Temari #4 in Temari

  • May 13, 2021, 3:41 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I was dreaming of this temari while I did the previous wrapped one. Could not get it out of my head. So, even though I have others I should be doing, here’s a rainbow temari.

alt text


alt text


Black mari with rainbow wraps in the Obi pattern.
Guidelines done in metallic silver.
This temari has nothing in the centre of it.


Dana by Night May 13, 2021

I had to look up what Temari are. How did you get in to this art form? How long does it take to complete something like you have photographed? I love the choice of black 'background' (base?) and the rainbow band is really well done. I mean, for the first one I've ever seen :) Cool!

auburn_girl Dana by Night ⋅ May 13, 2021

My husband loves handmade gifts above all else. I had seen an article about a Japanese grandmother who made a temari a day and I LOVED them. A little Google-ing gave me the title of a book that was supposed to be 'the best for absolute beginners' so I ordered it intending to make his Christmas gift a temari. I started with the first pattern and then made everything in the book. Now I have a whole library of pattern books!

It depends entirely on the pattern how much time is involved. This wrapped one took about 3 hours from start to finish. Most of the ones I do are between 4-5 hours. I sell them on Instagram (newman_needleworks) because there's only so much room for temari in our house. I also sell at local craft shows around Christmas time.

There's a few other pictures in this book of ones I've completed. I decided it's easier to post them in their own book.

Thanks for the note! I love sharing temari with other people. :)

Firebabe May 13, 2021

Man, the colors on this one are popping! Gorgeous!

auburn_girl Firebabe ⋅ May 13, 2021

It's even better in real life. I love this one, so, so much.

Gangleri May 13, 2021

That’s a pretty cool look.

Serin May 15, 2021

Wow, this one is so pretty! I love the way the colours pop on the black base.

And I'm trying to imagine how you got to this from the picture with all the pins in. :)

Calicakes May 16, 2021

Thats awesome. Perfect for Pride Month next month.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.