Genius... in Everyday Rants...

  • May 12, 2021, 10:22 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m just full of it since my last entry. Lemme go back to last week.

Wednesday last, I had to go get a commercial door (12’W x 14’H) down and put back together, so I was using my 48” off road jack so I could lift it up and get tension off the mangled lift cables, then to lower it down. For this jack, picture something you’d see in an old Looney Toons, the kinda “click - click” jack, with a lever to lift it and lower up and down the big post. Well, I was lowering the door, and I lost my footing, which made my lose my grip on the jack handle, I lurched forward, and the jack handle popped up and slapped me on the side of the head, from my temple to my ear. Many many profanities spewed forth over that one, and my ear didn’t stop ringing the rest of the day. My temple is still sore to the touch.

Friday, I was putting a tool back in the van after I fixed my gate.... again. I was in the side door and went to back step out, my foot missed the sill, I tried to reach up and grab the shelf to catch myself, went too high and smashed the back of my head on one of the roof supports, and still fell out of the van, and landed on my back, in the gravel. Yeah, that felt fanfuckingtastic. I of course then jumped up, slammed the door and scurried back in the house, hoping no one saw that shitshow. I spent the weekend on the couch nursing my wounds… and wounded pride.

Today I pulled another good one. I was standing on the top of my 4’ ladder, cause screw OSHA, which all the rivets on this little fiberglass ladder are loose, I leaned to drive a screw in, the ladder shifted, I lost my footing, grabbed the top of the door to stabilise myself, but ended up kinda rolling off the ladder against the door, held up by one hand, then had to clumsily aim and let go and try to land on my feet, which I shockingly enough managed. Thankfully, there was no one around to see that.

It’s just a fun time lately. Lots of faked smiles. It’s getting more and more difficult to have the motivation to do anything other than work. But, I’m not the only one who needs a doctor’s appointment. Veterinarian’s office sent me a text message today telling me the cat is due in for his vaccinations. Considering we just had a restrictions rollback here in Washington state, cause this is the dumbest bunch of smart fuckers I’ve ever had the displeasure to encounter, I dunno how that’s gonna work. He’s worse about unfamiliar things than I am. It’s never been an issue before cause I’ve always been in there with him. Guess we’ll see how this works.

I’ve been having dreams still, but they’ve not made enough sense to write out. It’s all just broken pieces. Like my heart. What I can remember, I don’t have enough context to have any kind of understanding. It’s like really crappy still images from a broken Polaroid camera.

I got hit on in Lowe’s on Monday. She was kinda cute, but creepy as hell. Kind of a Joffery Baratheon vibe. Hard pass.

I’ve run out of things to say. I’m finding that I’m hitting that impasse a lot lately.

EDIT - I forgot one. I had to tell a customer not to stand close to me today. He says “my wife and I have had our vaccinations. Have you had YOURS? “ “No.” “Why not?” “Because I have medical conditions.” “My wife works for (medical place). Don’t give me that bullshit.” I just glared at him. I’ve never so immediately and so badly wanted to just walk off a jobsite. It’s my body, it’s my medical issues, and none of it is your fucking business. I’m not going to say anything else about what conditions I do or don’t have. I don’t have to justify myself to these fucksticks. Have I had the vaccine? No. Why? “It’s irrelevant.” He asked for my bosses name. Let him call. If I get confronted about this, the chips land where they may. I want to go home. I severely despise this place.


Last updated May 12, 2021


Ophidia May 13, 2021 (edited May 13, 2021)

Edited

Ugh, sorry you had to deal with that argumentative customer. Telling a total stranger that their health conditions are “bullshit” is SO out of line.

What’s your work? Construction?

He Who Must Not Be Named Ophidia ⋅ May 15, 2021

It's one of my issues with people here. Entirely too many Karen's here of every gender. I'm still thinking I should have just walked out.

I'm a garage door and gate tech, so customers are, unfortunately, unavoidable. I like my job, but not always the people.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.