Everything is Changing in Musings

  • May 11, 2021, 6:50 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

We officially signed a lease on a rent home and will be moving in next month. Finding it was a bitch but we finally secured one we really like. The house is in a cute little neighborhood. It is more square footage than what we have now and the layout is entirely different. The only thing I wanted that it doesn’t have is a big soaker tub. But this is just a rent house and not one we are buying so I can live without it.

It’s only 45 minutes away but it’s going to be a huge change. Nathan is going to be close to his work. We are going to be further away from both of our parents. The girls will be going to the school where his uncle is superintendent and is one of the best schools in the area. Even though it’s still Oklahoma which is a very red state there is at least more diversity and more opportunities to meet people with a similar political and (non)religious status as us (again, not necessary for being friends with someone but it would help to at least have people that are more open minded.)

I am going to have to get a job. Rent is more expensive now. Plus I have always planned on getting a steady job once the kids were in school. My ideal situation would be to be a Teachers Assistant so I could work the same hours the kids are in school. But those obviously won’t be hiring until the fall.

If you guys have any ideas of how to make some extra money in the meantime (on top of the Etsy shop I already do) I am all ears. Nothing shady. No MLMs. We will be okay financially but it would be really nice to start putting some money towards saving as we have growing girls who will need braces and cars and all of the things one day.

Now comes the part where we start packing up the life we have made in this house the past 4 years. I know I am going to miss it. I still miss the last house we were in. And the one before that. I get weirdly attached to homes. Always have. I could still draw you the layout -in detail- for the house my family moved out of when I was 6.

Nathan and I celebrate 10 years of marriage next month. I’m so happy that after all this time we still choose each other. We are still learning how to love each other better all the time. We aren’t perfect but I’m so glad he’s who I get to build my life with. When we were signing the paperwork with the rental company the lady asked if we grew up together. When we said no she said she was surprised because she said we seemed like we knew each other forever. It does feel like that sometimes.

The girls are almost done with school. With the move coming I have barely had time to think about what fun things we will be doing this summer. Since the world is opening back up and I am vaccinated I feel better taking them places. And it is getting worlds easier now that they are older.

Overall I am so grateful for my life. I’m feeling happier and more secure lately. As stressful as moving is I’m so thankful to have found a place and for the new opportunities it is going to bring.


Adventure before Dementia May 11, 2021

Happy 10th anniversary! We are 6 years. I like your commitment phrase 'we still choose each other'.....

theocean. May 12, 2021

Happy anniversary! I can't believe it's been 10 years. I remember reading your wedding entry on OD, haha. Congratulations on finding a house too! Good luck with the job search. Also: "Nothing shady. No MLMs." Thank God. MLMs are the worst.

The Dress Collector May 12, 2021

Happy anniversary! And it seems there are companies hiring for customer service reps from home. Maybe you can look into those? Or maybe even admin roles?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.