Mass Shootings in Life After 60

  • May 11, 2021, 12:08 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Before you try to sell me on the fewer guns and more control conspiracy forget it. Gun’s are not the problem. A gun has never hurt anyone on its own. There has to be human intervention.
But I will agree, something needs to be done about keeping guns out of the hand of criminals. The only problem, you never know when some nut job is going to decide it’s open season on a former spouse or employer. Otherwise, sound-minded people just go as we used to say back in my day, POSTAL!
I haven’t kept count of the shooting since 2021 began, but it seems they are more prevalent. Have people just gone off the deep in? Forget the desperate cries for help, we have an epidemic on our hands. How do we solve a problem? Take a gun out and shoot someone. Makes about as much sense as driving on the left-hand side of the road!


.Bleu 🦋 Fleurs. May 11, 2021 (edited May 11, 2021)

Edited

I'm thinking this is more of a mental issue than a gun issue. I think the fact that 50% of marriages ends in divorce and most children are not growing up with an upstanding father or father figure, which turns the next generation into bad parents and so on and so forth. I think the media doesn't help but I also think people aren't educating children to respect guns. Parents have them in their closet or safes for "home protection" and I put those words in quotes because how is it for home protection when it's stuffed away in a safe with a code where during an invasion you're gonna most likely forget or struggle to put in the code correctly, but I digress... Anyway parents have them in their safes and they aren't taking themselves or their children out to teach them respect for guns. Parents aren't teaching children to respect their community. Sure I hated my school but it never crossed my mind to harm anyone. I was taught manners and respect for others especially my elders. Something that doesnt seem to be taught anymore. Kids are forced on psyche meds rather than teaching them correct methods to cope with their emotions, and the psyche meds screw up their brains. Just think of every mass shooter... they've all been on psyche meds. They almost all had psychological issues that the community never helped in the past. It's multiple issues but it all starts with family I think. My father raised me around guns and we lived in a time you'd didn't need a safe so I had full access to his guns. Did I ever mess with them?... Never. because I was taught that they were tools to protect myself and home in case someone broke in. I never even thought about taking them to school and outside. I learned to respect guns and knew that they could kill someone if handled irresponsibly from a young age, but they could also be fun for target shooting.

Douglas Kinney .Bleu 🦋 Fleurs. ⋅ May 11, 2021

I agree 100%!

Nash May 11, 2021

How many of those shootings were done with fully automatic weapons? If the number is not high, why is that?

A good deal of the world's nations drive on the left including Ireland, UK and India. Another thing all of the other nations of the world have is a much, much, much lower incidence of mass shootings. Given that it does not make a lot of sense that the US has all of the world's crazy people, how have other countries managed to avoid mass shootings?

Douglas Kinney Nash ⋅ May 11, 2021

Nash, Lve your profile pictures by the way. "Fill your hands, you son of a bitch." When you say fully automatic are you including the AR-15? It is not fully automatic, but many believe it is. Is it the weapon of choice? I don't know.
Maybe the US did get all the crazies, but I will stay off that topic. Maybe, our gun laws are not restrictive enough. Perhaps we need a mental evaluation and a 2 weeks waiting period. One thing is certain, we are not seeing less.

Nash Douglas Kinney ⋅ May 13, 2021

In the late 90's when I was a prison guard, I sat a gun tower two days a week armed with an AR-15 so I am familiar. What I am trying to point out is that ownership of fully automatic weapons is highly regulated in the US and as a result people are not getting mowed down by them be the shooter crazy or otherwise. Wait periods, registration, training and perhaps even insurance for a firearm is a reasonable requirement. It should not be easier to obtain a firearm than it is not purchase and legally operate a car.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.