A house built to last in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • May 9, 2021, 12:51 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

(Another in a series of startling and amazing finds on YouTube)

I’ve been looking for the perfect fortress to retreat to as climate change chaos begins and our “civilization” continues to crumble as we war against everything we hold dear on this fragile blue planet.

This little fixer-upper should do the trick. How many repairs do you have to make to solid sandstone? I’ll fix up the windows, select some nice photographs from my framed collection to hang on the walls, get a good comfy recliner chair and lamp, and set up bookshelves for a selection of my favorite books. Might even have a garden and I will be sure to let all the undergrowth fully envelop my little man-made cave so that no one knows I’m there. I will have to make sure there’s internet in the area because I wouldn’t want to miss out on any more good YouTubes, and I would need to send my friends here progress reports. I intend to detach myself from all sources of news, and focus on learning and enlightenment! I might even befriend a few gnomes and fairies.


ConnieK May 09, 2021

You'd never have to replace the roof but you'd spend decades renovating!

Oswego ConnieK ⋅ May 09, 2021 (edited May 09, 2021)

Edited

I’d hire good rock cutters, stone masons, and bricklayers!😋

ConnieK Oswego ⋅ May 09, 2021

LOL! Then you'll have to live elsewhere until they're done. Rock work is NOISY!

Oswego May 09, 2021

There’s an anadoned house nearby. Maybe I could squat in that while they're renovating?! 🥺😋

Jinn May 10, 2021

It could have potential if a person could tolerate living mostly off the grid and kind of rough. Lots of Rubbish to haul off , windows to replace , walls to redo and floors . A person would have to think about a bathroom and place to bathe . There appears to be no running water and no electricity . There is no place to cook really or store food . There is no real way to heat it . Chimneys and fireplaces would need rebuilt . I think some of the art and old furniture might be salvageable . One would have to be merciless about the wildlife that I bet lives in there now :-)

Oswego Jinn ⋅ May 10, 2021

I’d find a way to get electric and water in there!🤔

Marg May 10, 2021

Wow you’d need to be pretty hardy to live in there I think! I wonder why there was a few of them grouped together so closely - maybe it was some kind of community or something?

Oswego Marg ⋅ May 10, 2021

I wondered about that, too. My guess they were for close friends or family.

Jinn May 10, 2021

It could be cleaned up and cleaned out to make a nifty artist’s studio for good weather :-)

Oswego Jinn ⋅ May 10, 2021

That or a place to write!! 😌

Jinn Oswego ⋅ May 10, 2021

Yes. I could see so much that could be done. It’s a shame that area got used as a rubbish pit :-(

WhatDreamsMayCome May 10, 2021

Cool!

Deleted user May 10, 2021

Would be a heck of a writer's den.

Oswego Deleted user ⋅ May 10, 2021

Indeed it would!

Newzlady May 10, 2021

Very interesting.

Telstar May 10, 2021

Gonna be a bear to renovate..................

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.