Some finishes in Bookish

  • May 5, 2021, 2:14 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’ve finished off a few books since last I wrote. I’m currently reading 3 books, which is not good because I can’t focus lol. They’re all good and I have to rotate through them, yet I want to read them all simultaneously. First world book lover problems.

Oh, I also finally won a Goodreads giveaway! It’s a book I probably wouldn’t read normally, but sometimes those books pleasantly surprise you. I got my freebie in the mail over the weekend, so maybe I’ll start that after I’m done with my current library books.

I’m debating whether or not I want to include a plot synopsis in my summaries below. It probably wouldn’t hurt. What’s the point in me telling you the book is good if I don’t tell you what the book is about? Something to think on. It’s getting late so maybe I won’t do the synopses in this entry.

Anyway, here are my last few finishes.

1) The Last Black Unicorn by Tiffany Haddish
(4 out of 5 stars)
~This memoir was both funny and heartbreaking, as we see how Tiffany’s rough childhood deeply affected her and molded her as she grew into an adult. That bitch is strong, though. She fought through so much and only had herself in her corner and she accomplished her goals. Not only was this book funny, but it was a lesson in fighting your demons and crushing your goals. Absolutely would recommend this book.

2) The House in the Cerulean Sea by T.J. Klune
(4 out of 5 stars)
~What a fabulous book about acceptance, overcoming adversities, and doing the right thing. This honestly felt a little bit like a YA book to me, but the lessons within really apply to adulthood, too. There were fantasy components involved which were cute. The ending was fairly predictable, but you closed the book with a good feeling, and that was much needed in my world. Again, would definitely recommend.

3) I Let You Go by Clare Mackintosh
(3 out of 5 stars)
~A tragedy in a woman’s life has her running to escape her new reality. While she finds comfort in the new life she’s creating, her past is quick to catch up with her. Will justice be served or will she continue to live her life in fear of the future and in grief from the past? (Oooh, a little synopsis action for ya!).

Anyway, this book was just alright. The main character was hard to love. Finding out her backstory was triggering and frustrating. The “climax” of the book, when all the truths are revealed, honestly made me sick. It was a well written story but nothing Earth shattering. Not a terrible read, but I don’t think I’d recommend it based on content.

4) My Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You She’s Sorry by Fredrik Backman
(2 out of 5 stars)
~Backman wrote A Man Called Ove, which I loved. He also authored Anxious People, which I did not love. I figured I’d give him another try with this novel, but it really fell short for me. A young girl goes on a pilgrimage her grandmother constructed for her. But there were too many stories within a story for me and it got fairly confusing for me. There was a “fairy tale” element that just didn’t work for the story, and I couldn’t work out if it was a metaphor to help the primary narrative or just an “add in” to buff up the pages. Either way, it didn’t work. Backman writes well, but this book was a flop in my eyes. Would not recommend.

Books I’m currently reading:

Stories I Only Tell My Friends by Rob Lowe
A Very Punchable Face by Colin Jost (literally laugh out loud funny)
Maybe You Should Talk to Someone by Lori Gottlieb


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.