Flash Friday 5-2-14 after the flood in Flash Friday

  • May 2, 2014, 5:36 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

“… Love you more than madness more than dreams upon the sea …”

She stepped on the brakes a little too hard, I might have been dreaming.

“Sorry,” she slurred, “cruise control.”

“S’awright, where are we?”

She bit her lip and shrugged.

“… what’s lost is lost we can’t regain what went down in the flood …”

“Don’t know.”

“… and I love you more than blood …”

I flicked the radio off. A friend of mine played that at my wedding; his voice cracked. I shook my head trying to break loose the memory or remember what she looked like. It’s been like that for a few years now, morphine and whisky can only dam up so much of the tide … the world is like water; whether you remember or not fragments seep through anyhow.

“You wanna drive? I’m knackered.”

“What does that mean?”

“Just an expression,” she says. Her expression is fear, when she looks at me. It’s fear.

“Dead,” I say, “It means dead.”

“Oh,” that look again, “Sorry. I’m tired. I have to pull over. You don’t have to drive.”

The guy, I remember the guy, my friend, his voice cracking, singing that song. He was so god damned beautiful.

We switched places. I buckled up, waited for her to buckle up, and put the car in gear. She turned the radio back on.

“… Have you thrown your senses to the war or did you lose them in the flood …”

Theme night in the Aether. She looks scared, but it’s not her the ghosts are after.

Flash Friday Community Page: https://www.prosebox.net/book/242/
New prompts: Adopting a new nation

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.