Edna?? Edna who??!?!? in shiny things

  • May 2, 2014, 10:02 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Wow, I have been absent from PB for ages. As I predicted, work went from horrifically boring to overwhelmingly overwhelming in about a ten second time span a few weeks ago, and it did not let up. Until now, when, just as suddenly, it's dead again. (Yes, I could make entries at home. I could read entries at home. I have no excuse for that other than work-exhaustion which requires me to lie on the couch drinking beer and doing mindless things online.)

SO. Lots of things have happened. I went to New York with the cousins! We had a wonderful time and there will be an entry and pictures. When I get them on Flickr. Well, I hope there will be pictures- I had problems posting from Flickr a month ago and haven't tried again so who knows. Anyhow, it was great and I'll elaborate later.

My dad fell behind his junk-filled, junk-surrounded garage last week, and dislocated both his shoulders. Which, horrible as that sounds, could have been WAY worse. It's actually hard to believe he didn't break something. AND although he was wearing a Lifeline thing, he couldn't reach the button to call for help because he couldn't lift either arm, so had to yell for help until my niece's boyfriend heard him and came to the rescue. (Apparently there's another brand that knows when you fall and calls for help automatically- we're switching to that one. I forget what it's called or what his is-- they all seem to be Lifeline/LifeAlert/LifeSomething).

He's having to stay in a Veteran's rehab place until he recovers enough to take care of himself again. I'm going down to see him tonight. This happened the day before I left for NY and I was gone until Monday night. Since he was okay at that point and in the rehab place, I didn't go down there during the week. I've talked to him nearly every day and he sounds good. Bored, but good. He's getting shoulder therapy.

On the happy and slightly-related news front, my brother who has been teaching at a community college in Chattanooga and coming back to Asheville on the weekends since last summer has just gotten a job managing an auto repair shop in Asheville, that pays much better. So he's moving back and I am VERY relieved, as he lives right beside our dad. My nephew and nieces also live right there, but they all work weird hours and aren't always the easiest people to get in touch with. And I'm an hour and a half away which is not very convenient during emergencies.

Also happy news is that winter appears to actually be OVER. Now that it's May. The trees are getting leaves! Flowers are blooming! The lawn needs to be mowed! I need to get the dead flowers out of the planters and replace them with live ones!! The hummingbirds are back!!!!!! (That just happened day before yesterday - they seem really late this year.)

Okay, let's see if Flickr will post a few springy pictures:

NO. No, it won't. I don't know what in the HELL has happened to Flickr, but it's really getting on my nerves. They've revamped the whole site and now I can not figure out how to get the URL to my pictures. Which, YES, ought to be a very simple process. Well, FINE, I'll get it from the ones I posted to Facebook.

alt text

These were actually taken in Abingdon weekend before last. They get spring earlier than we do.

alt text

alt text

alt text

Of course I didn't post that many on FB. They're all on Flickr. AAGHH!!

And finally, the Adorable Eddie, obviously intending to go to New York with me:

alt text


Lyn May 02, 2014

Well hello, stranger!

Love the flowers, love Spring, and the pic of Eddie is way cute.

ermentrude May 02, 2014

Hope your dad's okay. That sounds pretty scary for him. X

Ragdolls May 02, 2014

noko May 02, 2014

So glad you had an excellent New York adventure with the cousins. You went to the Public Library! Bonus points for that. I am sure your dad was doing something useful when he fell. But wow, having that going on must have made the anxiety level amp up, Simon, the daily drugs, all that.. Glad too your brother is able to move back home. I am learning about how a full day at work is enough, just plain enough already. Sammy agrees. He feels that I need to be available for being sat on for protracted periods in the evening.

noko May 02, 2014

Lovely colorful pictures.

wintergrey May 03, 2014

Eddie is so cute!!!

quine ahin a lens May 05, 2014

it's strange days when teaching a craft is so poorly paid that working in the shop is better paid. Finding the url on flickr is easy enough. On the photos own page there is an icon of a box with an arrow, click it and it takes you to a list of options. For use here click on HTML it should open giving you a size choice set as you wish, make sure the radio button is set at html then copy the url in the box

edna million quine ahin a lens ⋅ May 05, 2014

It really is. He was making way more than I'd have expected at the community college too, even sadder. Community college instructors are usually not that well paid here - neither are teachers.

Thanks for the Flickr tip-- someone else actually noted me about that too, and I'm happy to say it worked. I'd found that html link but was trying to put it into the picture button thing like you do URLs instead of just pasting it into the body of the entry. Actually I tried fifty things all more complicated than it really was. Now that I understand it, it seems a little easier than the previous URL hunt where you had to go through all the clicking of pictures and sizes. At least now you can pick the size you want right there at the same page.

Justlovely May 09, 2014

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.