AbeeCeedees in This Is Now

  • May 2, 2014, 10:39 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well, if you fall off a horse, you get back on, right? I miss your internet creep faces and I want to be part of this community, so here I go with the writing again. First a survey, next - writing about my actual life again? Maybe! Even though I'm booooorrriiiing I would like to have a better chronicle of my life. Especially for M's sake. So.

A - Age: 31.75

B - Bed size: Queen. It's about all that will fit in our bedroom, although we are due for a headboard and a new mattress. Baby steps, I guess.

C - Chore you hate: Cleaning the bathroom. Funny story! So on our one year anniversary I cleaned the whooooole house, top to bottom scrubby style. (I used to be really not-neat, so this was a big deal.) When Joey came home from work I said "Happy Anniversary! I love you soooo much that I'm even in the process of scubbing this disgusting bathroom!" And he said "If you hate it that much, I'll do it, I don't mind." And so I haven't cleaned the bathroom in almost four years now. He is THE BEST.

D - Dog's name: We used to have a brindle greyhound named Ice. He was basically a giant cat and so for a dog, he was okay. But I am a cat person, not a dog person. I need to be able to go away for the weekend and leave out a bowl of food. Or go to happy hour without going home first. So no more dogs, unless I experience a bout of insanity later in life. Right now we just have Lola. She is the smallest, sweetest, softest muted torti that ever lived. She sleeps on me every night. SO. CUTE.

E - Essential start your day item: Coffee, ADD meds (I know, finally, there is a long story here.)

F - Favorite color: Teal. And now also coral.

G - Gold or Silver: Silver/white gold/palladium BUT I am experiencing a newly discovered love of gold, so take that with a grain of salt.

H - Height: 5'7", most of which is my legs. Sigh. (Do you know how hard it is for an athletically built person with no waist to find clothing? SIGH.)

I - Instruments you play(ed): The piano, for a hot minute. I had great talent but no discipline so I never practiced so my mom stopped paying for lessons. My lack of musicality makes me sad now that I'm grown.

J - Job title: Business Development Manager for a data and analytics consulting company specializing in Business Intelligence. I KNOW, RIGHT? I sound important, right? I get PAID to take people to lunch and dinner and ball games. This is the dream job I never thought I'd have. More on this later.

K - Kid(s): Madeline, who is now 2.2 years old. WHEN DID THAT EVEN HAPPEN? In this picture, she has a face full of donut, like a boss.  photo pic.jpg

L - Living arrangements: Post-war 50s ranch house in a "transitional neighborhood". Definitely not my forever home (I hope) but since it was purchased in 2007 at the peak of the housing market, we are going to be there for at least a few more years until we gain enough equity to break even, at least. Luckily, we are zoned into a great elementary school, so I have a good 8 years before I need to really freak out.

M - Mum's name: Abbie (not short for anything)

N - Nicknames: K-k-k-katy (my late grandfather), Miss Mouse, Kiki, Kateski (parents) and Face (Joey) - Incidentally, I guess Katy is my nickname for Caitlin, but I've never gone by my full name.

O - Overnight hospital stay: WELL. I stayed in the hospital overnight on a couch for a week at 8.5 MONTHS PREGNANT while my husband underwent the worst appendectomy of all time (bravado can actually come close to killing you, MEN) - not worst because of the surgeon who was actually quite wonderful, but apparently Joey's appendix was the biggest and most inflamed he had EVER SEEN, and this guy was not just out of med school. Sigh.

Other than that, I spent two nights in a hospital bed in my own room and 3 nights on a loveseat in the NICU when Madeline was born. But that about covers it.

P - Pet Peeve: Bad drivers, promise breakers, people that make way more money than me that couldn't compose a professional email to save their life.

Q - Quote from a movie: 'This landing is gonna get pretty interesting." "Define interesting" "Oh god, oh god, we're all gonna die?"

R - Right or left handed: Right

S - Siblings: I have a brother who is a perfect and annoying human. It's hard not to hate him, except that he's the best brother, and I love him.

T - Time you wake up: Usually around 6am. I am an insane morning person.

U- Underwear: Mostly thongs. And mostly from Target, these days. Why spend more?

V - Vegetable you dislike: Brussels sprouts. I think I'm allergic. (No, really.)

W - Ways you run late: I try really hard not to. If I do these days, it's traffic or the kiddo. Nothing like a tiny human who poops (or vomits, or sneezes snot all over you) right as you're about to walk out the door.

X - X-rays you've had: My teef. Baby ultrasounds. And then... my arm/wrist/hand, more than once for various childhood injuries.

Y - Yummy food you make: Food! In general! I am a pretty good cook. I make a really mean lasagna but can cook almost anything. But I prefer baking, and I have a kickass chocolate chip cookie recipe. If you guys promise to me internet creep friends with me again, I will send you some!

Z - Zoo animal: Tigers and Lions are super pretty. But I have a soft spot for otters because they are so fun! Let's play, otter friends!


pandora May 02, 2014

OMG she's adorable! And look at you, moving and shaking! Get back here!

janeanger May 02, 2014

All you thong people!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.