Flash Friday 5-2-14 (a warm up)An old beach bar that also serves spaghetti in Flash Friday

  • May 1, 2014, 6:43 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

“Sir you can’t come in here.”

“You shouldn’t tell me that.”

“Sir, you’re covered in blood.”

“My point exactly, for all you know I just whacked a busload of nuns for … telling me I can’t come in here. You really don’t want to do that to a guy covered in blood --- call him sir.”

“The people …” the bartender gestured broadly and let his arms fall limp to his side, the comfortable feeling of being alone suddenly less comfortable and more urgent.

“G and T”

The bartender relaxed his shoulders a centimeter or too. He extended his hand “Emiliano,” he said.

“Please to meetcha Emiliano, G and T.”

“Nice to meetcha too G and T.”

“Heh, Yeah. May I please have a Gin and To---“

“No. No Gin.”

“Ok, whisk---“

“No, no whiskey.”

“What do you recommend?”

“The beer is nice.”

“I’ll have a beer then and a cheeseburg ---“

“No, no cheeseburger.”

“Camel humps in white sauce and mashed yams.”

“I’ll check” He put his head in the kitchen.

“Spaghetti?”

“So no hump?”

“Spaghetti.”

“Excellent.”

“Would you care for a towel sir?”

“That must be some spaghetti.”

“For the blood.”

“It’s ok, it’s not mine.”





The title took longer than the entry. It is not inspired. I figured if someone did that prompt we could all give it a decent burial.


Deleted user May 01, 2014

Consider it buried. But what's going to take its place, hmm?

I pictured this as a scene from Downton Abbey.

haredawg drools Deleted user ⋅ May 01, 2014

Oh, I don't know --- how many times did I have to do an apology letter to an ex lover? Maybe that could take it's place. Sorry, I should be ashamed to even play at grousing, I appreciate the mad organizational skills, it'd probably even do me some good to look at that prompt in a different light. Not likely to happen though. It's, um, too specific I think. Maybe I could work with a middle aged bar a few miles inland that also served linguine ...

haredawg drools Deleted user ⋅ May 01, 2014

Oh, wait, you want a prompt doncha? Hmmmm, yeah, I'm going to do all that tomorrow. Probably. I'll try real hard.

Deleted user haredawg drools ⋅ May 02, 2014

Heh. Yes.

I left that prompt in there because it was from Our Dear Nash, and no one would take it. Did you? If you did, I'm sorry I missed it---forgive me, ok? Either way, we'll retire it for next week.

haredawg drools Deleted user ⋅ May 02, 2014

https://www.prosebox.net/entry/114241/flash-friday-4-11-14-siren-call-and-write-an-apology-to-an-ex-lover/

https://www.prosebox.net/entry/110801/not-a-flash-friday-flash-4-4-14-an-apology-to-an-ex-lover-definitely-not/

Not a big deal. I am sincere in my appreciation for your work organizing everything. That particular prompt is disturbing for other reasons and maybe it should be left up indefinitely. You know good and well why no one takes it, it's outside of more than just the creative comfort zone, it flys in the face of "it is important to bear no regret for this world"

Deleted user haredawg drools ⋅ May 02, 2014

Ah, ok, sorry man---I did read both of those; the first one I linked as "Siren call" because when you do multiple prompts, I link it under the first one you list. The second one was labeled "not a flash friday flash" which I interpreted as "don't link this".

Probably I should have to take that letter-of-apology prompt as punishment. Probably. I'm thinking about Dave's "stigmata, conspiracy" prompt a little.

haredawg drools Deleted user ⋅ May 02, 2014

Yeah, I had to ignore that one because I'm too driven to it, it's the one that jumps at me when I read the prompts. It's open for both tragedy and comedy, theological leg pulling and mad-men with a satchel full of Catcher in the Rye.

I mean I'll probably do it, but, yeah, penance or paying forward or just chasing the dragon, I've been trying hard to hit the ones I want most to ignore. I had to force history out of my head to do the ex lover one, hence the long entry flash before I could do one that was fiction.

I am told it is important to rid oneself of regret for this world --- Murasaki Shikibu

Nash May 01, 2014

heh

Tick Tock Tick May 01, 2014

Thoroughly enjoy the genius of your thinking/writing. Thanks for your comment. Had a good chuckle.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.