Moira in Skyelord

  • May 1, 2014, 7:06 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Chapter 1

At long last the wedding was over the summer had arrived, Moira and her daughter Morag looked forward to finally going home to the ancestral home on The Isle of Skye Scotland, her daughter was going to stop for a few weeks. The bothy had been in her family for many years, a quick smile came to her face as the memories came back, it had been a long time since she had been home.

Moira was a tall woman around 5’ 8” with red hair now sprinkled with a grey and cut to shoulder length. She had green eyes, although they sometimes appeared to change colour and have a blue hue with a touch of brown.

The next morning they set off for the airport. Although she had done this trip many times she was still a little nervous about travelling that far but was determined to do it. Once she had her mind set on something then she would achieve it, or have it if it was something she wanted.

Because it was such a long journey she decided that they would do it in two stages, staying overnight in Stirling then catch the train the next day to continue the journey.

After a good night’s sleep, a shower and a lovely breakfast they felt refreshed and ready to begin the rest of the journey.

The second part of the journey took them through some of the most very scenic countryside running along the gateway to the Highlands. Green grassy lowlands slowly gave way to rocky mountain views. The glaciated formed valleys that were green and lush were surrounded by the tall peaks of the mountains.

Although it was summer there was still a little snow on the highest peaks. The Glens were flowing with tumbling rivers that sang in tranquil voices as they ran along them.

Bit by bit the landscape of trees gave way to mountain gorse and other shrubby bushes.

The nearer Moira got to her destination the steeper the hills became the train wound its way through the mountain glens. it pulled into Kyle and from there they caught the ferry, crossing the Kylerhea over to Kyleakin and Skye.

From here they picked up the car and the journey continued home, they passed a farm house and Morag noted that they sold some of their produce: eggs, milk, butter, cold meats, bread, honey and jam. That is useful to know she thought. About 7 miles further on Moira saw the signpost for the Glen Brittle; they turned left, onto the final winding track. At the end of the track was the Bothy.

They parked the car on a gravelled area next to the Bothy. There was a path leading up to three wooden steps that led onto a patio area, and then it was straight ahead to the door.

Moira opened the door and walked into the sitting room. She smiled as the memories seeped back, Morag stepped in behind her mum and even though she had only been there a few times the charge that was in the house made her feel loved, from within she could feel the tears in her eyes rise.

The walls were the natural stone and the floor made from polished oak. To Moira’s left there was a huge fireplace. The surround and hearth made of stone. Logs and peat were placed in bins beside it, on the floor in front of the fire was a large cream coloured deep pile rug arranged around the rug were two cream arm chairs and a large, cream coloured sofa with large scatter cushions. On the right hand wall was a bookcase and in front of it a small dining table with four chairs. The wall with the main door also had a small window. Thick cream velvet curtains hung either side of it.

At the back of the Bothy there were five more doors. One led to a kitchen that was well equipped. It had: a wood fired cooking range that also served to heat the bothy, oven, microwave oven, fridge/freezer and the basic cooking utensils. The larder cupboard was stocked with: tea, coffee, sugar, salt, pepper and other basics. The person who looked after the house had also left fresh milk and butter in the fridge. Moira had brought some food with her so she unpacked it first before they explored further.

Next she went into the first bedroom, the double bed, that was covered with a duvet and a cream coloured throw. On the bed were plump feather pillows, they also had cream covers to match the throw. There was a wardrobe against one wall, a dressing table beside it and a chair. The chair was next to the window and the view from it looked down towards the glen. A large colourful rug was beside the bed.

The door that was next to the bedroom led to a bathroom. There was a big roll top bath with claw shaped feet, a large shower cubicle, a basin and toilet. There was the same natural wood flooring that ran throughout the cabin. A large beige bath mat was next to the bath and a smaller one in front of the shower.

The final door led to another double bedroom and had the same colour scheme as the double bedroom. It had a double bed, wardrobe and a chest of drawers made from light oak.

Morag went back to the living area and decided that she would need to top up the generator with petrol from time to time. That didn’t worry her at all as she had knowledge of two stroke and four stroke engines and would be able to sort out minor problems that may occur. There was also bottled gas for cooking if needed to cook quickly.

After finishing the unpacking, Moira made a snack. Then went for a short walk to settle themselves with the surroundings. They walked along the path behind the cabin. The gravel crunching under her feet.

The path curved around to the left and then stopped by a style that went over the top of a dry stone wall. they climbed the style and followed a rocky path down towards a loch. By now it was getting late so they both returned to the bothy. planning to walk the loch tomorrow.

Chapter 2

Moira and Morag had a hot chocolate before going to bed. As Moira lay there she heard the twit two of a pair of tawny owls and the eerie bark of a fox. She must have fallen into a deep sleep. The next thing she knew sunlight was streaming through a small parting in her bedroom curtains.

Moira stretched and then looked at her clock, it read 7.30am. She decided to get up and make the most of what promised to be a glorious day. She shouted Morag then showered and dressed then they had breakfast. First of all they drove to the nearest town Portree and stocked up with some fresh food items that she hadn’t got from the farm. When they got back Moira made a snack for lunch.

After they put on walking boots, collected walking poles and rucksack, first aid kit, penknife and all the other bits and pieces they usually carried around with them and of course her camera, tripod and extra lenses.

The top part of the path was fairly easy going, but as she neared the loch it became quite steep and she was glad to have her walking pole. It took them about 30 minutes to scramble down to the loch shore. It was worth it, each time her foot stepped onto the shore she felt the exhilaration seep into to her, the view was stunning.

Surrounding the far side of the loch was dense woodland and climbing upwards behind them the mountains with their snowy tops looking like white fluffy hats on the top peaks. Moira was standing on a gravel beach and the cold water of the loch was gently lapping onto the shore. She on then sat on the rocks for a while admiring the view and listening to the sound of nature around her. They set up her camera and took a panoramic view of the loch and close ups of the flowers that were growing in the grassy banks behind her.

Time had passed quickly and Moira realised they would soon have to make their way back to the bothy; they would have to scramble up the rocky path in the fading light.

They just managed to reach the top of the footpath as the sun set and darkness fell.

They reached the bothy and took their boots off leaving them on the patio before entering. They both suddenly felt very hungry, so after washing her hands Morag made a snack. They both then felt sleepy but decided to have a shower before going to bed.

Morag then climbed into bed and was asleep before she knew it. She didn’t hear the sounds of the night creatures. Moira lay in bed; her thoughts roaming back to her youth when she lived here, a few smiles and one or two happy tears appeared before she too finally slept

At dawn she awoke feeling refreshed and ready for the new day. Moira again made breakfast and after a cup of tea and they got dressed. Moira decided they would go back down to the loch, but this time would walk around the shore to see other wild life and flowers in that area. She made a picnic to take with them and set off at 8.30am.

When Moira got to the loch she found that there was a mist floating just above the surface of the water. It looked very eerie but beautiful at the same time. She took a few photos and then set off around the loch; they followed the shore line until they came to the edge of the wood land.

Moira and Morag decided to sit and have lunch, while they sat there a handsome stag wandered to the water’s edge to drink. They daren’t move a muscle or he may sense them and run. After drinking he sniffed the air and slowly moved back into the woodland. After a little more exploring they decided to walk back to the cabin, Morag felt privileged that she had seen such a fine beast.

As Moira entered the bothy she realised someone had been in there during her absence. The cabin had been cleaned and a pile of clean sheets and towels had been left on the table. The cleaners that were hired for her had left a note asking her to ring them if she needed anything and they would bring it when they next visited. This was in two days time.

After cooking supper, Moira checked the generator had enough fuel for the night and changed into her nightwear and snuggled down on the sofa to read a book. Morag yawned and said she was off to bed, about an hour later Moira could feel her eyelids drooping so she then went to bed.

Moira slept on a little later into the morning. It was a dull misty day and she was content to lay there for another hour reading. Finally she heard Morag moving round and made the effort to get up and dressed. After breakfast Morag looked out of the window and asked her mum what they were going to do today Moira decided even though it was a dreary day she would go for a short walk along the driveway past the farm, down into the Glen and out onto the open fields of heather.

The view was disappointing today because of the mist so they turned around and went back to the bothy. They had lunch then Moira did some of her cross stitch picture that she had brought with her and Morag sat down to read. The stitching Moira was doing was quite small and detailed it was of a tabby cat curled around some books on a book shelf. After a while she started tom hum softly then gently it broke into song, Morag looked at her mum surprised and said I’ve not heard you do that in a long time what song is it. Moira explained it was a song her mum used to sing to her when she was small. Morag listened as her mum sang the song, feeling the words deep inside.

Oh the Summer time is coming and the trees are sweetly blooming and the wild mountain thyme all around the blooming heather Will ye go lassie go... And we'll all go together to pull wild mountain thyme From around the blooming heather Will ye go lassie go . I will build my love a bower near yon pure crystal fountain and on it I will pile All the flowers of the mountain Will ye go lassie go... And we'll all go together to pull wild mountain thyme from around the blooming heather Will ye go lassie go . In hesitant words Moira sang the last verse her eyes sparkled with tears of a memory.

If my true love she were gone I will surely find no other where wild mountain thyme all around the blooming heather Will ye go lassie go... And we'll all go together to pull wild mountain thyme from around the blooming heather Will ye go lassie go

As the day came to an end Moira could see storm clouds gathering in the direction of the loch. She went out to check on the generator for fuel as a precaution. The temperature dropped as the storm approached and she could hear the wind speed increasing.

Moira lit the fire to give some warmth and cheer. She was not usually worried about storms but then she was usually in a city close to people, here was very remote, she coughed and it stung her throat, Oh not a cold please not a cold now. She decided to go to bed and shortly after began to dream...

I am not ill; I have just been overdoing it a bit lately. There has been a great deal of excitement in the family, my grandson has just got married and I was not going to miss out on something like that. After all, I had my reputation to uphold, as the fashion doyenne of the family. I had heard their comments ‘Trust Moira to stand out in a crowd’ and ‘Doesn’t she look marvellous for her age’.

No, I was definitely not going to miss the opportunity to show that there was life in the old girl yet. It was a bit depressing really, as although I am nearly ninety, I still feel like a young girl inside. I often sit and remember the old days when I was in my late teens and early twenties. Those pre-war years were so much fun. The first war had been dreadful, taking away so many young men, that those who were left behind felt the need to live life to the full. It was almost as if we knew that the good times could not last. A premonition, that was to be fulfilled far too soon in our young lives.

I must admit that it is rather cosy, lying here under the cover, letting my mind wander.

The curtains dancing at the window in their silly way are quite hypnotic. If I close my eyes, they seem to change colour from pale green to a pretty, flowery pattern, very similar to the first pair that hung at the same windows over sixty-five years ago.

‘Moira, Moira.’ I could hear my mother’s voice calling to me. ‘Hurry up, your cousin will be arriving soon, stop admiring yourself in the mirror and come in here.’

‘I’m coming mother.’ I called down, and with a quick adjustment to my hair, and a quick admiring glance in the mirror, I ran out in a very unladylike fashion.

My mother stood in the sitting room, her white apron gleaming in the dim light; sleeves rolled up and flour dusting her arms. I smiled; she always managed to get a white patch of flour on the end of her nose whenever she baked.

‘Moira, how many times have I told you to act like a lady?’ She paused mystified as to how she had produced someone as clumsy as me. ‘You are too old to be galloping around like a horse, try and behave with a little more decorum please.’

From my vastly superior height, I leant down and planted a kiss on her cheek.

‘Sorry mother, I’m going right now, have we got some of your special cake for tea?’

‘Food, food, food, don’t you ever think of anything else.

I laughed and opened the front door and walked down the gravel path, when I reached the little white gate, I turned and waved at my mother, standing in the bothy doorway.

She lifted her hand and smiled, she looked so beautiful that I raced back and gave her a hug.

‘Oh Moira,’ she laughed, ‘get along with you.’

I walked down the road to the bus stop, arriving just as the bus was pulling in; as not many people were getting off at our village I excitedly scanned the faces as they appeared. Suddenly I saw Callum, my cousin, in his smart new uniform and I ran to him and was swept into his arms.

‘Callum, it’s so lovely to see you, and you look so handsome.’ He hugged me tightly and breathlessly I looked over his shoulder and up into a pair of twinkling blue eyes.

‘Do I get one of those too?’ A deep voice with the soft Scottish lilt of the Isles said.

I blushed furiously, and disentangled myself from my cousin’s arms.

‘Moira, I hope your mother won’t mind, but I have brought a friend of mine from the camp for tea?’ Callum smiled. ‘This is Roderick, Roddy meet my scatter brained cousin Moira.’

For some reason, as soon as Roddy took my hand, I started to tremble. I was never usually at a loss for words, but right now, I could think of not one single thing to say.

He just kept smiling, holding my hand and looking down at me from his great height.

I came back to the present with a little start. I realised that I was breathless; the memory of our first meeting had exactly the same effect on me now, as it had then. I felt quite light-headed and as I looked at the curtains, they seem to change colour again to a deep rich blue.

The curtains at the small window fluttered in the slight afternoon breeze. The doctor has told me to rest, so here I am, tucked up under the duvet, a cup of tea cooling on the bedside cabinet.

It was my wedding night and I lay in the big bed, staring at the new dark blue curtains, made by my mother in honour of the new status of my childhood bedroom, as bridal chamber. As I lay waiting for Roddy, I tried to calm my nerves by going back over this wonderful, exciting day. My beautiful dress, the simple service in the small village church and the reception at the hall in the square. Wartime had almost been forgotten, as dashing young men in uniform twirled the pretty village girls around the dance floor.

There was no time for a honeymoon, as Roddy had to re-join his unit tomorrow. My mother and father had gone to stay with an aunt and uncle for the night, and now we were alone together.

I sensed movement by the bedroom door and I realised that Roddy was standing there watching me. He had removed his shirt and as I looked at his finely muscled, strong body, I shivered.

‘Are you ok Moira?’ he said softly. I nodded; I could feel the trembling of my knees beneath the covers. ‘I love you Moira, and I want tonight to be very special for you, something for you to look back on when I leave tomorrow.’

I reached up and touched his bare arm. With my other hand, I drew back the covers and without another word, he slipped off the rest of his clothes and lay down beside me. I felt his arms go around me, he kissed my lips softly and then with more urgency.

His passion enveloped me and I felt myself responding as his arms swept me to him sensations running through my body that I had never known existed. Those feelings took over, blocking out my fear. As his hands caressed me, the girl disappeared leaving a woman deeply in love.

In the morning, I lay with my head on his shoulder. The window was open and the curtains moved gently back and forth across the opening. I sighed happily and felt Roddy stir beside me. We made love again, gently, slowly, only too aware that our time together was running out. I tried desperately to put the thought of his leaving out of my mind, but a cold fear of what the future might hold in store for us began to grow inside me.

The war dragged on taking many men of the isles.

The next time we lay together in our bed it was winter, and the curtains were drawn to shut out the cold, grim day outside. Roddy had been wounded and had come home from hospital the week before. He had changed so much in the year he had been away, his blue eyes were pain filled and he had lost a great deal of weight. He would lie upstairs in our bed for hours, recovering in body, but something was terribly wrong. He would smile occasionally, and accept everything that my mother and I did for him quietly and gratefully, but as if we were strangers.

At night, we would lie in bed, not touching and if I reached out my hand to him, he would gently draw away and turn over silently to face the wall.

I felt devastated, as if I had been wounded too. I did not know what to say or do and I finally turned to my mother for help.

‘Be patient Moira, give him time,’ she said softly. ‘We don’t know what he has been through, apart from being wounded; he must have seen some dreadful things in the last year. Keep loving him and let him know you care.’

This particular morning, I rose quietly, knowing he would only be dozing. I went downstairs and met mother coming out of the kitchen.

‘There’s an official letter for Roderick,’ she looked at me worriedly. ‘I do hope that they don’t want him back yet, he’s just not ready.’

I walked slowly up the stairs and opened the bedroom door.

Roddy turned his head towards me and saw the letter in my hand. He held out his own and I gave him the envelope but I could not bear the suspense, and I left the room and stood with my back to the door on the landing. There was a moment of silence and then I heard great, tearing sobs coming from inside the room. I could not bear the strain any longer and I flung open the door and threw myself on the bed beside him. I put my arms around him and held him tightly. The sounds that he made were terrible, I could feel his hot tears on my skin and I cried with him. I caught my breath as I felt his arms take mine and put them by my side and the next thing I knew, I was crushed against him and this time it was his arms that brought comfort.

‘Moira, dear Moira,’ he said haltingly. ‘I don’t have to go back; I don’t have to leave you again.’

We talked a great deal that morning. It was not fear for himself, that had caused him to be so distant, only the feeling that if he did not touch me, love me, share things with me, it would be easier for me when he left again. He could not bear the thought of leaving me with a child, knowing as he now did, that there was a distinct possibility that he might never return.

As we talked all that fear was swept away and when we hesitantly made love, I felt that he had finally come home.

The blue curtains fade away, to be replaced by a bright, cheerful pair. The bedroom had been redecorated and in the corner stood a crib. I lay in bed listening to the gentle snuffling noises, which filled the room, and I had never felt so happy in my life. I heard Roddy coming up the stairs and open the door. I turned and smiled at him.

‘You’re awake then,’ he said softly. ‘Is she awake too?’

I looked at the cot that held our daughter Morag.

‘Not yet, but as soon as she gets hungry, we will all know about it.’

‘Moira, I have something to say to you.’ I looked at him and saw the bleakness in his eyes.

‘I have to go back.’ He gripped my hand tightly in his. ‘My regiment is going to be returning to France in the next few weeks and I need to go with them. They say that in the next few months we could end this war and they need every trained man they can find.’

I stared at him, hoping that this was all a bad dream.

He gently placed his finger across my lips before I could speak

‘I have been so happy this last year, now that I have you and the baby everything is complete and I can’t bear the thought of leaving you, but please try to understand.’

The tears poured down my cheeks and I realised that I was back in the present again.

The sights and sounds of the past faded away and the gentle knock on the door reminded me that I was not alone. I rubbed my wet face with a tissue.

‘Come in,’ I called, trying to control my quivering voice. My daughter Morag stood in the doorway.

I thought you might like another cup of tea before I go to bed.’

She looked at me carefully. ‘You still look very tired mum, are you sure you’re feeling alright, would you like me to call the doctor back again?’

‘No dear, I’m fine, just a little tired, that’s all,’ I smiled reassuringly. ‘It was all the excitement of the wedding on Saturday, it’s not every day that you see your grandson walk up the aisle, and I must have overdone it a bit.’

Morag sat on the edge of the bed and took my hand in hers.

‘Actually, I was having a lovely dream,’ I looked up into her youthful looking face.

‘It’s hard to believe that it is over sixty years since your father was killed. I so wish that you could have known him.’

It is night now and Morag had gone to bed. My companion, Betty from the next bothy has been in with a lovely cup of cocoa and gone home to bed, as tired with the last few days’ activities as I was.

The window is open slightly and the curtains drawn back to reveal a clear, starry sky. I feel so tired, but somehow content, my eyelids drop and then I hear his voice as clearly, as if it was yesterday. His soft gentle tones came from the end of my bed. My eyes open suddenly; I am trembling and excited, my heart pounding in my chest.

He is there, in his Highland uniform, looking so handsome and as strong as ever. He is smiling and his arms are outstretched towards me.

‘When he spoke he used my Gaelic given name Aoife, dear, I’ve come to take you home with me; I have been waiting for such a long time.’

I flew into his arms, feeling them close around me. I felt so young, so alive and so safe. Together we walked towards the window and the fluttering flower curtains.

I took a last, long look at our bedroom and in the bed, I saw an old woman. Her eyes were closed and she was lying very still. On her face was the most beautiful smile I had ever seen.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.