Policing in America in Life After 60

  • April 22, 2021, 1:03 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well, let’s jump on the police reform wagon for a while. This subject is of great interest to me as I will be going to work for a city police department in the next few months.
Yes, there are good and bad cops, but as a society, we have got to take a look at our own stupidity. When a person is stopped by an officer, the officer has no way of knowing what that person’s intent is. And growing up, I learned different cities handle traffic stops differently.
I have been told to get out of the car, I have been told to stay in the car, and I have never once had forced used on me. Why? I wasn’t stupid enough to disobey an officer. Don’t reach back in the car after you are told not to. The officer has no way of knowing if you are going for a gun or an ink pen.
Let’s ignore the number of police officers who are killed in the line of duty by some criminal element because the officer let his guard down. Forget the idiots who point what looks like a gun at an officer and are gunned down. Common sense would dictate you don’t point a weapon as an officer.
As for grabbing a gun instead of a taser? You don’t know the adrenalin rush that comes when you are in that situation. And from what little I have seen of the body and dashcam, the guy jumped back in his car and sped off. If you got nothing to hide, you got no reason to run, and if you run, I think the police have the right to stop you, with deadly force. But then if you run a red light, and act like you just robbed a bank, what do you expect? I am supposed to let my guard down and take a chance that you will shoot me? I don’t think so.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.