Infringement upon my Rights in Life After 60

  • April 16, 2021, 10:55 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

The Second Amendment has long been debated over exactly what the wording means. Opinions are like backsides, everybody has one and they stink! Thus I share mine.
If we prohibit everyone from owning a gun, mass shootings will not decrease. I can buy a gun illegally for any purpose I choose. My guns don’t kill people, it’s what is in my heart, my intent.
Where do we draw the line? 3D printers are cheap and can produce a gun that is untraceable but yet just as deadly. Ghost guns or more to my point Frankenstein guns, guns that are made of individually purchased parts and put together are not required to be registered.
As long as I am a law-abiding citizen I should not be restricted on the type of gun or even the number of guns I own. This whole let’s outlaw guns because they kill people is just plain stupid. That type of thinking should also apply to cars. They kill so let’s outlaw them.
Candy cigarettes were banned because they promoted smoking in youth. Yet more people are killed by drunk drivers than by smokers! And not one of my guns has killed. The gun doesn’t have the ability on its own to kill. But hey, with the rash of shooting lately we much have better gun control. My question, how many of those people had a legal gun they used?


CountingStars April 16, 2021

I'll reply the same way I did the last time this comparison was made:

We also license drivers via mandatory training and testing (including additional requirements for "special" vehicles), register the cars, and require drivers to carry insurance. I'm not staking a claim one way or the other on the issue, but that is maybe not the best comparison you can use.

Park Row Fallout April 16, 2021

Here's a fun response:
Track. Each. Gun.
Every gun sold must have a serial number tracked by database and whenever that gun is sold, exchanged, gifted, or stolen... the previous possessor is required to report the exchange within 24 hours. Also, require every gun owner to carry liability insurance on their weapon (in case, y'know, idiots aren't safely storing them and a 5 year old kills himself with Timmy's Daddy's toy). See this connects because if your gun changes owners (even by theft) the liability insurance also works to make sure you (a) behave responsibly with your weapon and (b) make sure you can't be held responsible if it isn't YOUR gun anymore. That way if, say, UnSub A reports guns stolen... just constantly... that may tip off authorities as to an illegal gun seller and we might finally stem the tide of illegal guns on the street.

I'm not pro or anti 2nd amendment. But the idea that "responsible gun ownership" isn't the focus and "nobody should tell me what to do with my guns" has become the focus? Is radical and ridiculous.

Mr. Mofo April 16, 2021

As someone who really shouldn't have access to anything but a slight sharp butterknife, but has a couple of pistols and who has quick access to several more pistols and some rifles, and shotguns, you are correct in your theories, BUT so are the other commenters.

It boils down to the fact the society is blowing it as usual.

Jodie April 16, 2021

There really is no reason to have a gun where there are children. I am so glad that guns are illegal here and we have really strict laws and where we can use them. I think only the army and the police should have guns and that is it.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.