Good Friday? in Life After 60

  • April 5, 2021, 7:44 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I have never understood why we call this particular Friday, Good. From the religious aspect, it is the day Christ was crucified. Not what I would call Good. And on a personal note, it was not what I would call a Good Friday.
Early Friday morning I gave birth to a kidney stone. The only good thing was I have passed so many of those things I know what to do. I was already on an antibiotic, I take a pill so we old men can pee, and I had some leftover pain pills from a previous surgery. Equipped with those and full knowledge of what to do and expect I downed the fluids and prayed for the best!
And because we like to include the rest of the weekend when we have a holiday on a Friday, my good luck continued. I have been splitting landscaping timbers. Saturday my chest hurt so bad I had to stop and rest for several minutes between timbers. Sunday, I was swinging a 10lb sledgehammer and hit the wrong nail. I decided that this was not going to be a Good Friday weekend for me and just stopped before I finished or hurt my self even worse.
I managed to make it to Monday. Today is my 63rd birthday. 2 away from retirement. It may take me a few weeks to get my project finished but I am hoping to be able to sit back and enjoy it soon.


sol April 05, 2021

I'd say It was a pretty shitty day for Jesus. I've always said I'd rather be crucified late Sunday night than on a Friday evening. Maybe it's because he took one for the team. Shitty for him, Great for the rest of us. Also I'm no stranger to birthing kidney stones! I try to name them like comets or something. The trick is to have an out of body experience for that journey from the kidney to the bowl. My last one took like 18 hours... Also Happy birthday!

Douglas Kinney sol ⋅ April 06, 2021

I had them every two weeks, like clockwork for 3 months! I wouldn't wish them on my worst enemy. I keep naming mine miney, cause I don't want any mo!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.