on jury duty in rants

  • April 30, 2014, 4:42 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I got here way too early... oh, well. Got a sandwich on the way to the building, then stood in lines, then sat... and listened to a long drawn out orientation.

Got a cup of tea... and sat... and waited.

I'm usin the computer in the waiting room. OMG! Although the computer/laptop is newish, either the connection is SLOW or the computer cache is clogged, but it works SO slowly and won't let me access most of what I want. Ah the joys of NEEDING to be connected. Time to give up before I am totally frustrated... I've got two books with me: one fiction, one non-fiction - both by Isaac Asimov. At least I can be guaranteed the writing will be of good quality.


Silent Echo/Quiet Storm April 30, 2014

i always take my nook with me when i go anywhere that i might have to wait for a while. amazing how we've gotten used to fast internet. take care,

Darcy0207 from OD Silent Echo/Quiet Storm ⋅ April 30, 2014

I hate taking the kindle out of the house... so afraid of it being swiped... the side effects of working in the courts: I hear about so much crime. I brought two small books. I'm set.

Ragdolls April 30, 2014

ermentrude April 30, 2014

I hope the waiting eases up soon, and you can get on with stuff. X

ThoughtsAfter April 30, 2014

How did the day go? I was called to Jury duty before Kermit died. Had lots of reasons not to be called in the end--son a deputy, husband dying and I was over 70...sent that message and of course...didn't have to appear. But I like serving on juries, and feel it to be an honorable act for a citizen to undertake.

Darcy0207 from OD ThoughtsAfter ⋅ May 01, 2014

I am in the civil side of the courts and there's a HUGE case - at least 20 lawyers, should take about 10 weeks, multiple defendants and multiple plaintiffs. They asked initial questions yesterday, then we get to phone in every evening till they say to return. Then.... more questions. It sounds unbelievably complex... and boring.

I hope not to be picked... my supervisor at the grand jury wants me to work a few WEEKS in May. I'll have today off (Thursday), then call this evening to find out about tomorrow. Not a good way to plan.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.