Day of reflection in The View from the Terrace

  • March 24, 2021, 5:23 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yesterday was designated a national day of reflection; it was the anniversary of the beginning of lockdown and we were asked to remember those who lost their lives to Coronavirus. Well known buildings like the London Eye and the castle here in Cardiff were lit in yellow, and there was a 2 minute silence at midday. I remembered our friend Tony who died of Corona a year ago next week. It was another bright spring day so I took the dog for a walk to the park and then on to a local traffic intersection where a pretty area has been created between one road that goes under and another that passes on a flyover above. It was filled with daffodils and the yellow seemed appropriate.
alt text

This morning I noticed the blossom tree that I wrote about last year is blooming again. Last year it reminded me of Anne Frank’s chestnut tree and it gave me hope to get through lockdown. I never expected to be in the same position a year later. I do hope that vaccination will prevent a third wave in the UK as they are having in Europe. I hope at least for an easing of regulations for the summer, a few days away with Hubby and maybe even a trip to the Shrewsbury Flower Show if it goes ahead this year. Meanwhile I am enjoying the daffodils in Cardiff.
alt text


Marg March 25, 2021

The daffs seem very fitting - spring is always a sign of hope anyway and hopefully the vaccinations will give us a bit more of the freedom we crave!

Jinn May 04, 2021

It does seem surreal that we live the way we do a whole year later . Sometimes I wonder if life is now forever altered.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.