The day I saved a life in Life

  • April 28, 2014, 8:30 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Feel good entry here.
Frustrating entry back that way. <--- I didn't want to mix them....ewwwww

Well, almost. When we went out to recess I was talking to one of the kids when suddenly I heard a scream from across the playground. “Ms. F!!!!! It’s an emergency!!!!!!!!!! Hurry!!!!!!!!!”. I saw 20 or so kids in a cluster around something on the ground. I could see through their legs that there wasn’t a kid on the ground, so I had a feeling…sure enough, I get closer and there’s a baby bird on the ground. (A baby blue bird to be exact.) He’s huddled to the ground not moving (except breathing). He looked so tiny and pitiful. Nice J had come up and when she saw him she cried that he would die if we left him. I knew he wouldn’t survive the rest of the day with recesses. We’re the first grade to go out. There were 6 other grades to come out to the playground. Nice J said that one of our kids from last year had just raised a baby bird with his mom. (Neighbor kid shot the bird mom with a pellet gun, so there was no one to raise the baby.) I made an executive decision and scooped him up. I cupped him in my hand and he adjusted his feet to feel more secure. That made me feel good. One of the girls got my key off my neck and opened the door for me. I went in to the 5th grade science teacher (she teaches the boy this year), but she wasn’t in her room, so I headed to my room because I had a box he could go in. Another kid ran into me and came to help me with the box.
(I just realized how rambling this story is…sorry about that!) Anyway, she got the box down for me and I got him in the box. I showed him to the special ed kids across the hall. The autistic 2nd grader LOVED it. His aide wouldn’t even come look because she just knew I had brought in a snake. :D I didn’t realize I had such a reputation. Then I headed back to the other teacher’s room and he started moving more. Suddenly, right before her door he flew up and landed on my hand. I froze – not wanting to have him loose in the building – and eased him back into the box. Then I headed straight outside with him. The girl that had helped with the door was waiting for me. I walked off away from the playground, but close enough for him to work his way back. She wanted to see him before I let him go, so I held him in my hand for her so see and he scooted right up my arm and tried to hide in my hair. (Which is impossible seeing as how short it is, but he tried.) No matter how I turned he just kept hiding around my neck. Finally she was able to scoop him up and hand him to me. I gently put him on the ground near a tree and he walked a few paces and then flew about 15 feet before landing again. Hopefully he stayed away from little hands and feet and did well. He definitely brought a smile to my face. Such a sweet little thing, but brave and friendly. 


~*~Larissa~*~ April 28, 2014

That story made me smile.

Jigger April 29, 2014

Aww! He was probably stunned from his first flight. It's got to be pretty shocking to realize you can do that!

Small Town Girl April 29, 2014

Awe!

terriberri April 29, 2014

what a great story!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.