I really want Wanda Maximoff to be the next MCU supervillain in Nerd life

  • March 8, 2021, 12:19 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

It’d be great. My husband and eldest son think the next big villain is Chthon (sort of like a Marvel Cthulhu?) based on the comic books and what’s happening currently with Wanda reading The Darkhold in the mountains and wielding so much “chaos magic,” but I really just want it to be Wanda.

I always love a complicated villain who’s also a key protagonist and we cheer for them, like a Walter White or an Anakin Skywalker. I could see “Scarlet Witch” being like a Heisenberg or a Darth Vader alter-ego for an otherwise-decent, yet traumatised lady. It’d be great to watch Wanda morph into an unstoppable supervillain.

Maybe I’d like to see her develop as some sort of Shakespearean anti-hero with the tragic flaw of “pretends-away painful realities.” She was SO ready to simply overlook the fact of Fake Pietro and White Vision, just to maintain her personal illusion that everything was OK.

I was disappointed that Agatha ended up being so one-dimensionally villainous in the finale because, let’s face it, she’s the only person who succeeded in getting Wanda to acknowledge that what she was doing in Westview was evil and selfish, and that it needed to stop. If Agatha hadn’t stepped into the situation in such a manner, Wanda might’ve just continued to torture the residents of Westview indefinitely forever. I really want to see Agatha become better-developed and more well-rounded with motives beyond gaining more power for herself.

So now I’ve found a new nerdy thing to be interested in, and I’m ready for the next Marvel Show in 2 weeks!

We only have Disney+ for TV, so Marvel and Star Wars are the only TV I’m watching, but that’s alright with me. Despite being a massive Trekkie, I haven’t watched the new “Picard” show or anything else like that because none of us have enough time to sit and watch the telly, and we don’t think multiple streaming services offer a good ROI.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.