Cooking survey. I bit this time genie! in Hot town, summery in the city - 2017

  • Feb. 28, 2021, 11:30 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Who does the majority of the cooking in your house?

I do. Breakfast and lunch are, pretty much, free for all as I really can’t be arsed. I kind of stopped doing them last year just because everyone gets up at different times they breakfast at random times so are ready for lunch at random times. There’s always bread, cheese, eggs, spreads, salad, fruit, yogurts etc… but evening meals are to be eaten together at the dining table. However, once the meal is over I sit down. I never wash up!

Are you happy with the cooking situation in the house? what would you change?

It would be nice if I received more input on what people wanted to eat but otherwise I’m happy. I was thinking recently how weird it must be for R to have no control over what he eats each day; to just have it put in front of him. I would absolutely hate not having control over what I eat! I’ve been cooking my own food for almost 3 decades!!

Who decides what meals to eat?

Usually me. Sometimes R will specify something, sometimes T will ask for my lasagne (in reality, my mum’s lasagne) but mostly it’s down to me.

Do you menu plan, or choose day by day what to eat?

Usually I’m a meal planner and food orderer based on the plan but at the mo I’m really struggling so I pop to Tesco almost daily to pick up dinner and any extras we may need.

How often do you have a takeaway?

Very rarely. Literally a couple of times a year! When my friend came to stay from the US 17 months ago, she bought us takeaways 3 times!! That was 18 months worth for us 🤣🤣 what we do though is once a week (Saturday) we buy microwave meals or pizza etc.. from the supermarket and cook those to eat while watching a movie .

When you eat out (in non-Covid times!) where would you go?

Eating out… ooh eating out… to be fair and to go against all my political sensibilities, usually it would be Wetherspoons . L will eat some of their foods and vegetarian options are clearly shown for T. However, we have an amazing Thai cafe in town, just a small little place, and they guy who runs it just cooks the food he grew up with from his mum’s repertoire. Damn, it’s sooooo good! We also love a Nando’s (I introduced R to it on our first date as I’ve been going since you had to travel to Camberwell to eat there).

Describe your weekly menu.

Apart from the Saturday microwave crap, we usually have jacket spuds with a variety of fillings eg. Chilli, beans, tuna etc… sometimes a stir fry, freezer beige stuff, sausage rolls with mash or (home made) wedges, lasagne or shepherds pie (also my mum’s recipe). Often a home made soup with any veggies that need using up. I miss cooking really fun, complicated stuff but it’s so disheartening when I get told it looks disgusting 🤷‍♀️

How often do you go food shopping?

Usually one big shop and a smaller one near the weekend. Currently daily.

Which supermarket do you normally use? why?

Money willing I’d do all my shopping in Sainsbury as they have such a nice variety of stuff and the shop isn’t stupidly large. However, money is not willing during lockdown. I often shop in Tesco as it’s half a mile away. Online is usually Asda or Iceland if I need it sooner (which is where the beige freezer stuff comes in 🤣).

How do you describe yourself as a cook?

I’m a bloody good cook. But my kids don’t know it! I blame Kevin, the school cook. That was the first time that T frequently got processed food and seems to prefer it. My mash isn’t as good, my everything isn’t as good, except for my (my mum’s) lasagne! Hey Ho. Such is life.


~Twinkle~ February 28, 2021

This has made me want lasagne! I just asked Tom why we can't have it (due to SW) and he says we can! Yay!!

thesunnyabyss February 28, 2021

it's interesting how other countries eat, especially countries similar to here, all the crossovers we have,

I don't know anything about Wetherspoons but why are you politically opposed to them? there are places I won't eat for non food reasons too,

have a good day!

ermentrude thesunnyabyss ⋅ February 28, 2021

The guy who owns the chain is very pro Brexit. X

thesunnyabyss ermentrude ⋅ March 01, 2021

ah, gotcha, my country has been so messed up these past few years with our govt and the absolute craziness of the last few years next door to us, I really didn't follow much of the whole Brexit situation, one day I'll catch up, lol

Jinn March 04, 2021

I love lasagna but I only make it about once a month. I hate daily cooking. F. Does it half the time so that helps but his cooking is worse than mine :-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.