Regrets, I’ve had a few... in Hot town, summery in the city - 2017

  • Feb. 26, 2021, 9:24 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

But then again…

No seriously. Have you ever regretted starting a job? When we bought this house it had been decorated to sell, decorated really well. In the 17 years we’ve been here we’ve never changed the living room/stairway. The living room is purple and the banister was painted purple to link it all together (as the stairs lead up from the living room) but the purple paint started to chip a few years ago and the banister was a dark wood colour underneath. I thought it would be nice to sand it back to that natural wood and so I got my sandpaper and sanding block from the garage a few weeks ago. It didn’t take long to remove the purple as it seems to only have one coat. Then the dark wood began to fade.

Yes, it isn’t dark wood but paint designed to look like dark wood. Once I got beyond that there was a lovely shade of teal which was on top of cream under which was pale blue. Finally I got down to the original pine!!

4880513-E-A4-D4-4-D8-A-962-F-0-C05-F9217621

The purple is the only one with only one coat and I am very much regretting the decision to sand it back to wood 🤣🤣

To be fair, I think I’ll only do the top by hand as it’s curved, the other three sides will be done with a sander, I’m sure one of my friends will have one I can borrow.

My plan is to remove all the purple wallpaper and fingers crossed that the plaster is in good condition so I can paint straight onto it: cream above the dado and a light mustardy yellow below it with white woodwork (except the banister which will match the yellow).

I’m looking forward to the lightness it will bring into the room 😊


colojojo February 26, 2021

Oh man! Color after color! It reminds me of when people so tiling and they just go over what was previously there. If you want to take out the old tiling and do it properly, you discover like 3 layers of tiles from previous owners. Haha.

ermentrude colojojo ⋅ February 26, 2021

Given enough years of decorating your room could have an extra square foot of space 🤣

thesunnyabyss February 26, 2021

sounds perfect and light!

Deleted user February 26, 2021

Wow! But I bet it'll look amazing when it's done!

Jinn March 04, 2021

I can’t wait to see it !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.