Learn how to Prioritize. in Tales of Employment.

  • April 26, 2014, 6:08 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Alright. So, you all are well aware that my responsibilities at work have changed from generic sales floor to market stuff. I don't know what the title type deal is yet, but it's what I am doing. Making sure the dates are good, keeping the coolers/freezers stocked, the bread table, that whole little section, along with the back cooler and freezer. I'm no longer the generic sales floor. I don't get as micromanaged, and I don't have the same responsibilities. I have shit I NEED to do, because it's a matter of freshness and shit for the inventory that we got that expires quickly. So, we got backed up in the backroom. There is backstock (stuff to be located in the backroom) in the coolers. Which means that they currently have no location so the system doesn't acknowledge them, because they have no location. So if someone wanted to pull some from the back...they wouldn't know that there are any there, unless they searched through the carts sitting there. So I spent the majority of my day trying to push what of that stuff sitting there out on to the floor that I could. And organizing it so that tomorrow, I can quickly backstock everything because I will know what I am dealing with and where it should be going. Well, I was probably 1/2 way done. I got all the case packs (boxes of the items) out and sorted in the back and ready to be backstocked. However there are like 3 or 4 carts of just...loose items that are not in case packs. That I still have to go through. Lots of them. Lots of single items (multiples of them of course) that still need sorted, because you have to log how many you are putting in that location when you backstock. Well, I still have those to go through and the store manager/TL on the floor asks me to push some CAF pulls (hourly stuff to be put on the floor) and to clean up a little ittty bitty bit of flour on the baking aisle shelves....First of all...we have mid shifts to push the CAFs, I shouldn't have to help push CAFs unless they are super backed up.They weren't there were roughly 4 on the line. Nothing big. I could handle that on my own as a mid shift. Anyway, so I say alright you're the store manager. I can't say no. Second of all, that little bit of flour....it's the baking aisle...where all the flour and sugar and shit it....guess what....there will ALWAYS be a small amount of powder on the shelves. It's inevitable. Those bags come in with flour/sugar in the case packs and we can not practically...dust each pack as we put em up. And finally....is that really what you make the priority? Those CAF pulls, can't really be done if the shit isn't backstocked. Because the people pulling the items won't have anything to pull because it WON'T HAVE A LOCATION. So you pull ME off of that, to do that? Is that really what you call management? That is a gross lack of understanding how the system works, but ya know what. I did it, like a good employee. And when 2:30 came around you bet your ass I wasn't staying any later than that. You pull me off of something important for shit that we have people specifically there for....is retarded. And a waste of my ability. Don't get me wrong, he's a great guy the manager dude. However....maybe I just have an issue with like the higher ups in places I work, or maybe it's how I believe work and higher positions should work, but I watch this manager walk around and pass the buck off on to other people. He doesn't really do much of anything in the store. He tries to reorganize the CAF pulls so they go by section and guess what....the CAFs are already organized like that, the backroom crew does that...so he moves shit around and ends up having people running all over the store for the pulls, instead of in the section that they were already organized for. Keeps a staff member in each section while getting the product out. He sees a simple thing...LIKE A TINY PILE OF FLOUR, and instead of taking 2 seconds himself to just wipe it up, he hunts me down, and tells me about it, to which I have to actually go find what it is he is talking about so I know what kind of "mess" i am dealing with, when he has already seen it, knows its location, and what is needed to clean it...just so he can walkie someone else, ask their location, and say "Don't worry I'll come find you" WHAT THE FUCKING HELL? You are a god damn manager....grow the fuck up and just do some shit instead of wasting the time of passing it off on to other people. Especially if it's something as simple as a tiny pile of flour or a pricing strip falling. Those things snap on in 2 seconds.....seriously? The other day he pulled me from checking dates on products to do re-shop (items that people decided they didn't want and to be put back on the shelves) ....You'd rather sell outdated goods, as long as that reshop is out? THAT"S HOW YOU GET A LAWSUIT AGAINST YOU!!! How did you become a manager? Am I insane or what? I believe that a management position should be held by someone that has learned the whole thing from the bottom up. That way you understand how it all works, what's practical, you understand the grunts' perspective, and you just understand it all. And if you are short staffed or something, you can fucking step in and fill that role. I learned the kennel from the bottom up, and I bet you I could walk into any kennel and manage it. Well, almost any kennel. I would need to get the basics of their setup, and what not. I'd work like a day in the kennel before managing. Ya know, get the jest. I mean shit. The other leads and managers don't waste time telling me a bout a tiny bit of flour, or pulling me from something important. And if they do, they fucking ask and don't tell me to. You may be the boss or whatever, but a little courtesy and manners gets you a long way with your staff.

Oh I should include that I had my "annual" review the other day. It was written by someone that isn't even there anymore. So that shows how outdated the information is. Anyway, it was all basically pretty much saying (the written review anyway) that I was average or below average, but that was all based off of the seasonal work I had done, when I was still learning everything and when I didn't expect it to actually be a steady job, so I didn't really give a fuck. And the lead giving me that review was saying a bunch of stuff about how that was back when I was just seasonal, and I was just learning and new and all that shit, and how I clearly was doing a great job. Getting a mini-promotion within 6 months...I think that aint too bad. Especially considering I have NEVER DONE THIS RETAIL BULLSHIT. My forte is with the dogs. Very different than this...social employment. I'm used to talking and getting wagging tails and barks in response. Sometimes singing. Not..."How are you? Can I help you find something?" and getting "I'm good. No" or being ignored. I'm used to working hard and getting a bunch of shit done. (Granted that now I am working harder) I'm used to laboring, more than being social with humans.

Anyway...that's my employment rant for this evening. Back to the Playoffs. Hmm I should probably do a sports book thing.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.