Mish mash in 2014

  • April 26, 2014, 2:01 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

-started writing this on 4/12-

Men are overgrown babies. I swear, they are.

Ben has the weekend off with me since he got hired on as a driver at Coke. He starts Monday and quit Xerox yesterday. It's a huge weight off of his shoulders since he hated Xerox with every fiber of his being. It's a huge weight off of mine as well since I know what working at a job you hate does to a person. It happened to me while working at Sam's.

So, yesterday, we talked about getting the remainder of our stuff out of storage today and get it closed out. We are fixing to get charged another month on the 14th and it would be the best day to do it while Robbie was still at my parents. I stayed the night at our house last night, had some fun with Ben this morning, then he fell back to sleep on the couch since it is cooler downstairs. I opened the bedroom window, took a shower, made sure my head wasn't going to incapacitate me as it still hurts, then got to work.

I straightened out the closet, got the dresser put together, hauled a table and tv up to our bedroom and threw out an old tv. When I say "old tv," I don't mean a flat screen. It was one of the old, big, heavy models.

After Ben gets up, he says he isn't feeling well and we might not get to finish the storage unit.

...

Okay, I just cleaned an entire room while fighting a migraine and YOU don't feel well?!? I didn't say it like that, just gently reminded him the unit would be charging us again in two days and we really need to get it done. He took some Advil and, about an hour later, we got everything from storage moved out and closed it out.

But seriously. This isn't a dig at Ben. Every single man I have ever known has been like this. They don't feel well and, as a result, are useless. Unlike women, where we slap on a band-aid, take some Advil and keep buggering on even with massive bodily injury. I just don't get it.


It's been a pretty slow couple of weeks. Ben has been going through training for Coke. He passed the written for his CDL on Tuesday. Woohoo! Now he can really get into the driving aspect of training. That's one of the great benefits of Coke. They pay for your CDL and you just pay them back. $20 a paycheck.

We had someone in from corporate the week after my migraine. I can't remember his name, but they had him y-jack with me the last time he was here in January. We talked talk much, just exchanged the typical pleasantries, "hi, how are you?" and such. But he remembered our conversation from then about how I want to move up in the company and told Rocky how impressed and glad he is that I am not only Team Lead, but Team Lead over the Learning Lab. Rocky told me what really impressed him is how I'm dressing business casual like the supervisors even though it is not necessary for me to.

Getting noticed by corporate = YAY!

Several coworkers have a theory that the reason I got noticed so much is that I don't change anything I do or how I act when higher ups are around and they can tell that. I'm constantly consistent. People always talk about how nerve wracking it is having him sit with them. It wasn't for me. When he y-jacked with me, even though we chatted between calls, I basically forgot he was there during calls. I did my thing and that was that.

The Learning Lab is going well. Out of the 14 people we started with, we're down to five. We're getting four more on Monday. Thank god, I was starting to get very bored. I've been finding excuses to get on the phones and take calls. I'm an odd duck to most people up there. Everyone else finds excuses to get off the phones, I find excuses to get on the phones.


I've taken to playing through Skyrim again. What I really love about this game is, even though the quests are the same, you can have a different experience each time you play it. The first time, I played as a Dark Elf and dual weilded war axes. This time, I'm a Nord and mainly use a battle axe, but also dabble in archery.

Right now, I'm updating my X-Box. I just figured out today that it can connect to wifi and figured I might as well update. I'm debating on buying the DLC for it. Hearthfire is only $4.99 on Steam right now. With that one, I can build a house from the ground up and adopt kids.


An awesome remake by an awesome band. I love the Mad Max feel the video has.

Eventually, I'm going to give someone a headache with my musical choices. My taste in music is all over the place. There's not much I don't like.


a mote, floating April 27, 2014

What hedgehog said. Just keep going where your drive takes you.

I'm not a gamer, but I recently discovered and fell in love with the soundtrack for Skyrim.

Vamp a mote, floating ⋅ April 27, 2014

It is gorgeous, isn't it? I had a bad habit for awhile where I would pause the game and fall asleep listening to the music.

a mote, floating Vamp ⋅ April 27, 2014

Doesn't sound like a bad habit to me! :-) Been listening to more of Soule's work (Oblivion, Morrowind, Guild Wars) -- just stunning.

Star Maiden April 27, 2014

woo getting noticed!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.