Bone-weary & Pensively Phlegmatic in General Mental Anesthesia

Revised: 02/20/2021 10:52 a.m.

  • Feb. 19, 2021, 10:39 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Don’t let the title fool you. From one extreme to another. I go from having a fever of 103.7 in my former entry to a body temperature of 96.2 today.

LAST WEEK’S UPDATE:

All tests negative. Flu test negative, pneumonia, negative. All 3 #covid tests negative. I knew they would be, but now it’s confirmed. 

Diagnosis… just a virus.

No ear infection either, and I’ve lost even more weight.

Also, I can’t deal with the chronic fatigue until May. That’s when I can see my primary care Dr. ugh. Adrenal fatigue is most likely, but I’m not going to self diagnosis. Here’s what I’m going to do though… the only thing I CAN do.

I’m going to wear compression socks everyday. Knee high compression socks. I have some, but l’ll have to get more so I have enough to wash and wear daily. I know it’ll help with the tachycardia at least. My pain levels are so high, that despite my high threshold for pain, it puts a lot of strain on my heart which is why it’s constantly beating so fast. Two years ago this month, prior to being diagnosed with tachycardia, Dr’s told me I wasn’t long for this earth because of my high heart rate as a result of my pain levels and the fact that meds couldn’t bring my pain levels down, so I’m in a constant state of intense suffering. On one hand, I’m used to it, on the other, my heart rate is beating 120x a minute when I’m sitting doing nothing. That’s not good!

So, theoretically, compression socks should increase my energy levels a bit by increasing my blood flow which in turn I believe should increase muscle tissue oxygen saturation and lower my heart rate a bit, I think.

Considering my lack of concentration and constant brain fog, I don’t know if anything I say makes any sense. I’m really trying to help myself though. Maybe you read this and think: “Oh, he really put a lot of thought into this”. Try and understand, it takes me hours to post because I can’t think. I pause all the time because my brain just stops. The words blur on the screen and I have to look away. Sometimes, I repeat the same thing in my head over and over and over and over again and I don’t know why.  

This has been a worsening thing over the past year and I think it’s related to adrenal fatigue (or something in that family). It started when I stopped the Prednisone a year ago, but right around that time, my pulmonologist had me using (and still to this day) multiple inhalers and a nebulizer for severe eociniphilic asthma which are all steroids that effect the adrenal gland similarly to the way Prednisone did, and I’m really suffering as a result.

I actually just made an urgent care appointment tomorrow with a pa at a local dr. office affiliated with my primary cares office. I was going to go to urgent care tonight, that’s how bad I feel, but this will be better. If you’ve ever had Mono, that’s what this feels like.

And since I can’t exercise because I’ll break my spine, or my hip due to the osteoporosis (thank you Prednisone) I have to be creative in ways to bring up my energy levels.  

Considering how often I have to be my own Dr. It’d be nice if I could get paid for resolving my own issues. (albeit temporarily).

TODAY - FEB 19, 2021

Just got finished with the follow up appointment with the urgent care Dr. that I saw last week regarding fatigue 🥱.

I’m negative for Mono, but my labs were not good. There were A LOT of abnormalities. I won’t go into them all, but aside from low calcium and anemia etc… the biggest issue is that my platelet levels are extremely high.  

Normal range is: 147 - 365

I’m at 649

That’s concerning for several reasons.

  1. It puts me at a high risk for developing a blood clot, but that shouldn’t happen because I’m on a blood thinner, so it’s very curious.

  2. It could mean an infection, but I’ve tested negative for flu, pneumonia, ear infections, mono, covid… so the other big “c” word was floated around. (briefly). 🥺

  3. It could just be the massive amount of inflammation in my body due to the extreme severity of my ulcerative colitis, though, as bad as it is, seems a bit excessive for that high a number.

  4. Iron deficiency. Sure, I battle anemia, but this isn’t ‘just’ anemia. Even anemia plus the uc is questionable with a platelet number of 649.

Based on my lab / test results, I’m being treated for cfs or (chronic fatigue syndrome). It’s likely that I also have adrenal fatigue, but she first wants to start me on Cymbalta at 20mg and see how I do.

If that drug sounds familiar, when I was hospitalized 2 years ago this month, I was given Cymbalta and I injured myself because I was given too much of it which caused me to be overly groggy and I lost control of my faculties causing a fall and several major injuries.
Dr. is also concerned about my weight loss. 78lbs in the last year. 6 lbs in the last week. I’m hungry, but I just don’t want to eat, I simply don’t feel like it. I don’t want to. I’m hungry, but I’m not hungry. Sometimes it’s Ulcerative Colitis pain, sometimes I just don’t care. She threatened to put me on meds to get me to eat if I don’t gain weight. She wants me to drink Ensure or Boost protein shakes, she even recommended I eat more red meat. I told you.... Some of my numbers were WAY off.

I’ve been wearing compression socks voluntarily (as mentioned previously) mostly to help with my tachycardia and now I absolutely HAVE to wear them to lower any increased risk of blood clots! Wth is going on man??? Did the Xarelto suddenly and somehow stop working? Is that even possible? Now I have to have that conversation with my pulmonologist.

I just want to snap out of this ‘fog’. I want my brain to work again, to wake up. I’m tired of being so tired, too tired to move, too tired to think, too tired to care about anything.

Truth is… I’m trying. I don’t know why, I honestly don’t. I’m not someone that is afraid to ask for help, that’s why I went to urgent care in the first place, but at the same time… I really don’t give a crap anymore; take that as you will.  

I’m just so very tired.

At least my sock game is strong.

By the way… since wearing the compression socks, my energy levels haven’t increased at all, however, my average resting heart rate has dropped about 20 - 25 bpm.

Not easy to find silver linings these days.

I barely care enough to share this link, but I’m not afraid to ask for help… well, not anymore.


Last updated February 20, 2021


Marg February 21, 2021

Well you’re certainly rocking the socks! I had no idea they had that effect on a heart rate.

Deleted user March 12, 2021

I hope things are going better. Sorry for not being around I was in my own abyss. Just needed time to crawl out of it.

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes Deleted user ⋅ April 23, 2021

I know the abyss... I wish we would have bumped into one another there. I would've liked that.

Marg April 07, 2021

Just read your latest update Jaye - the hallucinations sounded really frightening - seems so cruel to have had that reaction to something which might have helped :( That restlessness is truly awful - people don’t realise sometimes these things are far worse than chronic pain. I hope the Psychiatrist can provide some support for you and give you practical advice for managing the pain. I did try and donate but GoFundMe is playing up for some reason - won’t let me sign in, won’t give me code to verify for ApplePay, won’t let me do anything so will have to try another day. Keep fighting though - your words and your spirit are all you’ve got just now but you’re using them well - don’t let that beautiful spirit be broken!

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes Marg ⋅ April 23, 2021

Yeah, I finally did a proper update on here and included that event to catch those up who don't read my updates or aren't aware of them.

The thought alone of helping goes miles. Donations aren't everything, it's what behind them and behind sharing the page / story that's truly meaningful and I feel the love. Thank you.

Marg Exhumed By Scrying Eyes ⋅ April 23, 2021

Glad you did an update because I had forgotten to go back to it! Done now :)

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes Marg ⋅ April 23, 2021

Totally ok, but thank you once again. Donations are second to knowing there are people out there that care and are pulling for you. It means everything.

Mr. Mofo April 13, 2021

I think of you once a week. I truly hope you are doing okay.

Your socks can beat the crap out of my socks.

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes Mr. Mofo ⋅ April 23, 2021

Sock wars! I would accept that challenge!

I finally updated. Thank you for thinking of me, I wish I had good news to share, ask I can really say it's that I have a lot to share.

I hope this finds you in good health and spirits, not of the paranormal kind, perhaps of the Gin kind, but in general.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.