The least damaging truth... in Flash

  • April 25, 2014, 6:39 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

... is when you tell me part of the truth - the part that won't hurt as much.

Is bothering to sort truth in to more or less damaging parts an act of love in itself?

Is it a sign you still care?

And is that what I'm really looking for?

Not the truth, not the hard cruel truth, or the gentle generous semi-truth.

And is that fact that you bother to consider my feelings a sign you care?

I think I'll take it that way.

I'll stop looking for ways to be hurt.

Instead I'll do the best I can with what I have.

Note: This means nothing. This is related to nothing. It's just words on a page.


Deleted user April 25, 2014

It means a lot, I think.

Florentine April 25, 2014

I agree with G. Your words are always valuable, ten fold when they're vulnerable.

Linda April 25, 2014

Yeah, I'm not really buying that the words don't mean anything. They may not be personal to you, but they sure mean something. Reminds me of something that is often quoted about truth telling: Is it true? Is it necessary?

If you can be kind about truth telling, all the better.

Ragdolls April 25, 2014

woman in the moon April 26, 2014

I coined the term 'least damaging truth' after finding out my husband was lying to me. It was a long time ago.

woman in the moon April 26, 2014

I was reminded when reading ConnieK's recent entry. https://www.prosebox.net/box/852/

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm April 26, 2014

i'm thinking it means more than you know. take care,

NorthernSeeker April 27, 2014

Truth and the opinion of the person telling "the truth" are sometimes hard to separate. I think "just the facts, Ma'am" is the way to go.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.