Sun and Coffee in Generalities

  • April 25, 2014, 3:56 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

After a week of awful, soul-defeating, rainy dreary weather - complete with it starting to seep into the basement - we have a day of sun. I joke about being solar powered, but it's glaringly obvious today.

Probably not helping that I've emptied the contents of my French press into my bloodstream much quicker than normal today. Weee!

Two hours later...

I believe I have crashed. Could just be low blood sugar. I went outside to ride my bike for a couple of small errands nearby and I came back hungry and cranky. Like hooouuungry cranky. I'm eating my soup now, and it seems to be helping.

This entry is turning out much more mundane that I had planned.


So, Easy Diary, huh? Is anybody planning on jumping buildings to that one? I've been keeping an eye on it, but I cannot see past the mess of a front page - nor get past it. I would try clicking on various links to explore, but it kept me on the home page each time. I guess I'll keep watching, but I'm not planning on going over there.


Last weekend, we ventured up to Dad's for Easter, which just happened to fall on Little Brudder's 21st birthday this year. I had visited Crickey earlier that week and had her help me add some sugary-sweet stuff (and Boone's Farm, per Dad :P) to our bar, put all of it in a box, and watched Dylan's eyes bug out of his head when I walked through the door with it.

He's a good kid and never really got into the underage drinking scene, so it was fun to bring the bar to him. And since it was his birthday, ice cream drinks seemed to be appropriate. He especially enjoyed the Brandy Alexander, and I enjoyed watching Jer and him do the Gratuitous Shot of Tequila. We kept it low key and mellow, and wound up more full than drunk by the end of the evening.

In other sibling news, Tiff was being a snot. Dad had wanted to wait until Jer and I got there to do the backyard eggs, and then when we did, we waited all afternoon for her to be ready. She was downstairs playing Call of Duty or something and couldn't tear herself away, which, no big deal, fine...we've got a box of booze to play with. Well, she decided to go out at some point and find most of them without us. Came back in while Dad was carving the ham waving the full bag she had found just as Dylan, Jer, and I were getting our shoes on to go out. What the crap?? It was just so snotty and been bugging me all week.

For those that are new: She's fourteen. Old enough to know exactly what she was doing.

But, aside from that minor event, Easter was good. Planning on polishing off the rest of the ham Dad sent home with us tonight, will be bringing the hardly-touched Boone's Farm to Barb, and should probably do something with the eggs soon.

Oh, and Dad included a whole bag of black jelly beans in our basket. YUSSS! *not sharing*


This weekend, we're heading up to Danbury to visit Jer's mom. We haven't been up since January and she's really been laying on the guilt. You should've heard the sharp "Oh." I received when she asked if we would be coming up for Easter and I told her we'd be at Dad's for Dylan's birthday.

Side story: One of the major things that happened when I wasn't writing was her falling off a ladder and shattering/doing major damage to her heel/ankle. We spent a lot of time up there helping her with stuff late last summer and autumn, and she became very sitcom trope about it (you know the one...person gets sick, has a bell, needs everything, but what you bring them is all wrong, I'd do it but I'm oh, so sick!), and believe me when I say it was not just us that had to purposely distance ourselves on helping when things took a turn for the unnecessary - like telling us that we had to come up and decorate her yard for Christmas, or kvetching to anyone who would listen about how she couldn't understand why her friend (whom had bought the supplies and built her a step ramp to get in and out of her house) couldn't be bothered to put things to her liking. (He also cut way back on the amount help he was willing to give.)

But! Now she's walking and back to doing things for herself, so it's not been as mandatory to make sure we get up there. Plus, Jer's been super-busy with The Business. And while I hate to say it, it's been necessary for us not to be running up there as often, because she really did relish us coming up and taking care of things for her. Retraining was definitely necessary.

I did not mean for this to turn into a rant about my mother-in-law.
TL;DR: Going to Danbury this weekend. Bringing wine.


And now, there's a bike with my name on it waiting for me to ride it into the weekend. :)


Ferret Mom April 25, 2014

I haven't checked out Easy Diary, I am just staying here. Most of my OD friends came here and I have found them, don't feel like changing again.

I don't know what it is about black jelly beans, but yes, they are the best.

Rhapsodies Ferret Mom ⋅ April 27, 2014

*still not sharing*

Jigger April 25, 2014

No black jelly beans, please. No MIL, please. No Tiff, please. Yes on the booze, though.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.