Making plans in Hello.

  • Feb. 14, 2021, 5:30 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Shellie, a couple of cousins and I have decided to do 10,000 steps a day in March to raise money for Cancer Research. My auntie Pat is currently undergoing chemo and has recently shaved off all her hair. She’s always been super proud of her hair, so this was a big move. I’m lucky to have a family that, on the whole, are very close knit. If you want to sponsor us, the link is on my Facebook.
10,000 steps a day is easy for me to do, so I jokingly said I’d do auntie Pat’s as well, after she expressed an interest in joining us if she felt well enough. I’d like to think I can do 20,000 steps a day, but it’s going to take work and dedication. That’s roughly 3 hours of solid walking. I’ve not said it publicly, but it will be my own challenge to myself. I’ve linked my Fitbit to the challenge, so if I do manage to do 20,000 steps a day, I’ll be able to say “I said I’d do Pat’s as well!” at the end of the month. 🙂

I’m hoping to get up and running with my eBaying again. A couple of years ago I bought a load of yarn with the plan of doing car boot sales. I did one, but only had one sale all day. The yarn has sat in the garage ever since. As well as selling new balls, I’m also going back to what I used to do, where I’d buy used yarn cheap off eBay, wind it into neat balls and sell it at a profit.
On top of that, I’m going to get my Etsy up and running, selling little things. People don’t pay decent money for big hand-knitted things, so I’ve decided to make things like baby bootees, hats, bunting, that kind of thing. I can rustle up a pair of bootees in an afternoon and people seem to be charging around £10 for them.
It’s such a shame that people charge peanuts for hand knitted things, it means customers are spoiled and won’t pay the £80+ that should be charged for large items of clothing.
Anyone have any ideas for little projects that I might be able to sell?


Bomb Shell February 14, 2021

Good luck with your 20,000 steps, I think it’s a lovely idea doing it for auntie Pat as well.

It’s a shame people don’t pay for hand knitted items. I got some hand knitted baby cardis that someone gave me second hand. Harrison and Billy both wore them and I recently sold them on eBay, 99p for four of them! Shocking.

Babe In Toyland Bomb Shell ⋅ February 14, 2021

People also charge nowt though, that's half the problem! When I was doing my research, I found one seller on Etsy selling baby hats for £1.80! I thought it was only for the pattern, but no, the actual hats.

Lucretia February 14, 2021

It's unreal that people won't pay for something handmade. Arts and crafts are so underrated. It's a lovely idea though, and I hope you can make money on it.

Canadian Lass February 14, 2021

It's the same with any hand crafted item, I've been having a tough go with my plastic canvas too, though I haven't touched it since just before Christmas now that work is insaneballs.
Even getting my Facebook page up in numbers is hard.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.