The passing of time in The View from the Terrace

  • Feb. 8, 2021, 2:45 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I keep seeing people on TV talking about how they are filling in all of their spare time during lockdown. Some are taking up new hobbies, some are redecorating the house, some are just bored. I don’t seem to have any more time. Life just goes on as it did before. It’s partly that I’m getting more migraines than I used to, nearly every day now, and if they come on in the daytime that will write off several hours. Even though the meds I have do take away the pain they wipe me out so I have to keep taking a rest and I can’t concentrate on doing much. I have done some family history research but it’s difficult without my laptop. I haven’t been able to get it fixed because of lockdown. I have also done my back in again. This happens every few months. I can only sit for a few minutes as it is too painful. Strangely it is much better when I move around but not when standing still. I am typing this while lying down which is the best position.

Hubby and I had our first Covid vaccine a week last Thursday. I had to go back to Herefordshire to have it as that is where my GP is. I did my back on the morning of the day I was going, so poor Hubby had to do all of the driving on two 80 mile round trips. It was really good to go home, if only for a flying visit. The Black Mountains seemed like old friends that I hadn’t seen in ages. It was great to have a chat with Tony and to see the cats and even have a word with our neighbour. Even the trip to the surgery was pleasant as I have known the nurse for years. It is a strange world where having a vaccination feels like a day out.

The news recently has all been about the passing of Captain Tom. So ironic that he died from Covid after raising so much money for the NHS. I was listening to his rendition of You’ll Never Walk Alone with Michael Ball on the radio yesterday, it is inspirational. That was always a favourite song of mine. It helped me through some very difficult times in my teens.

Yesterday Louise went into the garage to get something from the freezer and discovered that a £50 bag of dog food had been eaten by the rat. We knew there was a rat living in the garage. Apparently he has been there for years and has regularly chewed through the wiring of the outside lights, but it didn’t occur to us that he would chew through the thick plastic bag the dog food was delivered in, well, he’s never done it before. Looking at the size of the bag of food, I don’t think it is just one rat, so maybe the newcomer had more initiative. Louise has now ordered more dog food and a rodent proof bin to keep it in.

I have to go home again on Thursday to see my doctor. I hope my back will be well enough to allow me to do some of the driving this time. I can’t wait until I am able to stay there for a day or two again.


Marg February 09, 2021

Sorry to hear you’re experiencing more migraines now - that must be horrible. I can sympathise with the back pain - mine’s been playing up recently too. Great that you both got your first vaccines - did you get a date to go back for the second?

Sabrina-Belle Marg ⋅ February 09, 2021

No, we haven't got a date for the second vaccination, they said they would get in touch. From the news it looks like it could be 12 weeks.

Marg Sabrina-Belle ⋅ February 09, 2021

Yeah that seems to be the general consensus in most places.

Jinn February 09, 2021

Back pain is terrible. I find I can not stand long in one place either. Fixing dinner can be excruciating if I am not careful. I usually do it in stages . I hope you can get it and the migraines back under control.
Is Louise making any progress so that you might be able to go back home ?

Sabrina-Belle Jinn ⋅ February 09, 2021

Louise's condition isn't going to change, autism is a lifelong disorder. I can see now that she will never be able to live entirely alone. When lockdown is over I hope to go home for several days regularly. She would now like to move back to Herefordshire. If and when that can happen I wouldn't need to stay overnight so often, just for things like medical or benefit appointments or times of extreme stress. I do worry what will happen to her when I am to old to do this and when I am no longer here. Her brothers would look after her in a practical way but neither is any good at emotional support. I'm kind of hoping she and Justeen, Tony's fiancee, will bond. She is a care worker and doing a nursing degree, she's a lovely girl but she already has a widowed mother who suffers with depression to cope with.
Permanent back pain must be so difficult to cope with. Mine is getting better slowly. I'm coping with the migraines, but wish I could manage on less pain killers.

Jinn Sabrina-Belle ⋅ February 09, 2021

It would be so good if Louise could move back !

Oswego February 17, 2021

Glad you got your shot and I hope those migraines go away. Those must be awful.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.