fast car in Wherelings and Whenlings

  • April 24, 2014, 8:08 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

even when i'm working all the time or hate my job or both, and even when my friends disappoint me or i disappoint myself or i disappoint my friends, and my dog (who never disappoints me and i hope i never disappoint) is not around, and even when i get stressed out and emotionally volatile because i don't have enough or have too much time to myself, riding my bike never, ever, ever fails to elate me

when i'm feeling sad and reckless, i blast music through my headphones and go so, so, fast and i never want to get to where i'm going

most of the time, though, the volume and pace are reasonable and these are honestly the moments of my life during which i feel the most happy and free and alive and connected with the world around me, even though i'm technically alone

before i left for vacation, my bike's brakes were going. i got back and immediately took it in to get fixed, but the fix is going to be complicated and dangerous (to my fork) and i didn't want to/have time to get into it, so i just bought a new (to me) bike on craigslist for a hundred bucks for now

and DAYUM, it feels good to ride a functional bike again. like i said, normally i don't bother going fast, but i can't resist now that i'm actually able to do it safely (that is, now that i have brakes). i've been cutting a good 10 minutes off my usual already significantly fast-paced-because-i'm-obviously-always-running-late commute.

in a couple weeks, on my day off, i'm going to ride to indiana and drink beer at one of my favorite breweries and ride back along the lake and it's going to be (it better fucking be) sunny and wonderful and i'm just so happy bicycles were invented i can't even

if i were a hamster, i'm 100% certain that i'd be the kind that raced on the wheel all day and all night


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.