My Phantom Pyrexia in General Mental Anesthesia

Revised: 02/06/2021 2:34 p.m.

  • Feb. 5, 2021, 9:37 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Having not left home in nine days; how I suddenly got sick is certainly strange, but not quite as strange as the sickness itself.

I wasn’t congested, no runny nose, not sneezing & no sore throat. I ALWAYS get a sore throat.

A few days ago, Sunday (early evening) I started to feel like I might be getting a fever, but I get migraines often, so I didn’t read too much into it at first.

An hour or two goes by and now I’m really starting to feel quite a bit of pressure in my skull and I’m feeling hot, so I take out my thermometer. My normal body temperature is around 97.5, so anything over 99 and I start to feel feverish.

I double checked just to make sure my thermometer was accurate.

Yup.

By 1 am my fever was on the rise…

It was a long night. A miserable night.

Safe to say, I didn’t get any sleep at all.

I was using cold compresses, an ice pack, anything I could to cool off.

My fever peaked at 102, but never really went down. The following day was rough, but I toughed it out at home, I wasn’t going to go to the hospital, perhaps I would’ve considered it if there were decent hospitals and Dr’s where I live because as the day wore on, things got really bad.

For the next 11 or 12 hours (mid afternoon to after midnight) my fever was over 103! Peaking at 103.7. I was on FIRE!!!

I ended up calling my pharmacist because I just wasn’t going to go to the hospital. I can’t take fever reducers. I can’t take Advil because I’m on blood thinners and I can’t take aspirin or Tylenol because I’m on Dilaudid, I needed advice.

The pharmacist said with a fever that high, it was worth the risk to try and take Advil. A few doses, you likely won’t bleed to death from stomach ulcers, but that fever has to come down.
The second I hung up the phone, I took a couple of Advil. It didn’t help. My fever remained above 103. A few hours later, I took a couple more, and then slowly, I could feel the heat in my head / face lesson. I took my temperature around midnight. 102.9. and by 2am it was 101.6. Just 2 degrees, but it felt like 500 degrees cooler.

The whole time I had an ice pack on my head, neck and face.

I didn’t sleep well, but when I got up several times to get sick (uc) I took my temp and it kept dropping. 100 something, 99 and change and now I’m in the high 98’s (which is still a degree higher than my normal) but I feel normal. I feel crappy actually, I feel sick, but I don’t have a fever.

I went to the Dr’s yesterday, they’re fast tracking blood work because of my high fever the last couple of days. My heart rate was in the 140’s. Blood Pressure 100/60.

Got tested for Covid again. I don’t think I have it, I can’t imagine I do, with my respiratory issues… I’d likely be dead by now if that were true. Either way, it still means I’m in quarantine.

3 Covid tests. 4 long swabs, 2 short. 1 is rapid response. Why 3? I have no idea.

Dr. is concerned something is going on with the gallbladder. Remember, I still have gallstones.

I did have severe sharp pains this morning in that area, it wasn’t colitis related, and it hurt when the Dr. probed the area.

What are the odds I stay out of the hospital this coming week?

Oh, and speaking of hospitals… a friend of mine who wishes to remain anonymous, put this short video together for me and asked me to share it. He/She (I won’t give away the identity) isn’t able to donate to the GFM page and so He/She created a montage of shots from my social media pages (we’ve been friends a long time) to show me when I’m in remission from colitis vs when I’m in a flare state like now in the hopes that people will watch it and better understand visually how the disease physically and mentally affects the mind and body. How I look in general, how Inflamed, unable to breath, hospitalized, thin and weak, bleeding, in pain and sickly. It could have been a much longer video, but I’m glad it’s not because it can be hard to watch and difficult to create.

I was blown away and very surprised when I saw it. Thank you so very much. You know who you are.

I’m freaking exhausted though man… Everythink is a chore.

I just feel so beat up. Can you tell?

Can’t a guy just a catch a break?

My GoFundMe Page - Freshly updated with this entry and more

Stay safe everyone.


Last updated February 06, 2021


Marg February 06, 2021

The video is hard to watch but only really shows a tiny fraction of what you’ve been through. Lovely thing to do for you though - I hope it generates some donations.

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes Marg ⋅ February 06, 2021

Yeah, it's short, and you're right, it barely scratches the surface. I think the person kinda wanted to show that I had a life before this. If I made a video like that it would have been a lot longer and I would've used all the video footage of the phlebotomists that couldn't get the needles in my veins etc... some of that is up on youtube, but this person just took some photos off my Facebook page. I have a ton more that I never posted online. Of course, I'd never make a video because that would just be... idk, weird. It's one thing to post of video of an event, another to create one for myself. I can't do that.

Marg Exhumed By Scrying Eyes ⋅ February 06, 2021

Apart from the fact you wouldn't have the energy to do so anyway! I do get the gesture though - I remember being really tempted to contact Bonnie Mackay at one point then caught a hold of myself realising how much of an invasion of privacy that would be. I think you just feel you want to do SOMETHING to get you out of that hellhole.

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes Marg ⋅ February 19, 2021

That's a super nice thought, I'm glad you didn't though. My license expired in 2020. Because of my health and covid, I can't risk going to the dmv to take the eye test for a new one. I'm in a new state, so i can't renew online. I have to put my face in a machine and do this thing... I can't do that now, not with everything going on, so that's just another obstacle I'm facing because whomever I see for my colitis, I'll need to rent a car and drive. Ugh... everything is so complicated. So now, I can't even risk getting my new license until after I get the vaccine (whenever that'll be available to me).

Marg Exhumed By Scrying Eyes ⋅ February 20, 2021

So when you move states you virtually have to apply all over again as though it’s a new license? Have I picked that up incorrectly?

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes Marg ⋅ February 20, 2021

Not exactly. Your driver's license is only valid for 8 years here. So you have to get it renewed every 8 years. Every 5 years if you're older than 66.

But, you can renew your license online as long as you live in the same state as it says on your license. If you move out of state, you have to get a new license. You can not do that online. And if your license expires and you're living out of state, you can't renew online either. You have to pay, take tests, do it in person etc...

Marg Exhumed By Scrying Eyes ⋅ February 21, 2021

Ah right - got you now.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.