Dye job in Taking over the world. One skein at a time

  • Sept. 19, 2013, 11:13 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Been dying some wool the last two days. I dyed two skeins ni one day and then working on a third in a different manner today. I saw this adorable set of knit pants and just fell in LOVE with the colors. So i did my thing and searched for a similar colorway. Cant for the LIFE of me find one. So i decided to just dye it. I wound up three skeins of wool, One is 50/50 wool silk, one is worsted three ply wool and the third is bulky one ply wool. Right away the browns and oranges bled into one another on the silk and 3 ply wools.Which was FINE because they blend nicely. But i wanted some of the creamy/natural color in there. Then when i applied the teal it just covered it all. It didnt quite work out like i planned. So for my one remaining skein ( i could go wind some more hanks, buuuuut im kinda lazy right now) I decided to do a mix of hand painting and dip dying style. On dry wool. Usually i presoak my wool in vinegar water. But this time i just moisened it and dipped. One color at a time. I did blue first. Then a few hours later i took it out of the now cold dye bath. Rinsed it. Its not as intense as i wanted. But i did the next third (ish as i left about 3 inches of white in between) into the dark brown. This one i left in overnight. Brown can be a pain. Sometimes it likes to go a funky shade of purple. I rinsed it this morning and put the last third ish again leaving 3 inches of white on both sides, and put it in the burnt orange. Victory. At least the colors didnt bleed into one another. So now im going back in between! I want the brown and orange to bleed into one another, so i first did a quick dip in cold dye in the orange, It went very light. Which was fine, it was now premoisened. I did the next dip in brown. And im letting the brown bleed up the light orange shades. Its neat watching dye bleed UP against gravity. I have the yarn suspended on a shelf above and only the very bottom of it in the dye in a tray. Its bleeding up the wet yarn to the orange above creating a unique join. When this finishes and is nice and rich brown. Probably tomorrow. I will allow it to dry some in front of a fan and bring out the teal again. Its not as rich as i want. so im going to reapply new teal dye into the dye bath and warm it again. Then reapply the blue in a similar manner. Allowing it to bleed into the dark brown and leaving a nice 3inch section of cream in between the teal and the orange. Or so is the plan! Im hoping for a very unique mix. Its not the one i saw on the page, but its close enough colors to make my own fun dyed project!!


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.