Of Mice and Men in Life After 60

  • Feb. 2, 2021, 12:15 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I recently had a conversation with my PCP about the Covid Vaccination. Of course, just like the past Presidential election, you have various accounts all told to be true! Granted, I trust my Doctor more than any politician, so I asked him about the vaccination.
He always shoots straight with me so he told me, it is serious, you need the vaccination but I wouldn’t give it to you. His reasoning? I had a severe anaphylaxis reaction to Benadryl and steroids. I spent almost 14 days in ICU. He then goes on to say, However, with your medical history you do need the shot. I just love the irony....You need it but I wouldn’t give it to you!
In the condensed version, if I get covid the odds are it would kill me…If I take the shot, the odds are I will have a reaction to it. Reminds me of George and Lennie in Of Mice and Men. George has to do something so terrible, yet so humane. So I have to choose between the two evils. But to be truthful at my age and my health, the Flu could kill me just as easily.
I will be gone a few days, I am having tendon release surgery tomorrow. And I am on the waiting list for the Covid shot. I just have to carry an EpiPen with me when I get the shot. Sometimes we just have to choose the least objectional to our own conscience. Much like I did in the last three elections!


EvequeFou February 02, 2021

I wonder if he needed to expand on the context of "I wouldn't give it to you." I'd interpret that to mean that since you've had previous reactions to typically-benign medications, you should get the vaccine in a facility that's qualified to treat you in the event you do have a reaction. Get it during a vaccine drive at a hospital, not at a regular doctor's office.

Deleted user EvequeFou ⋅ February 02, 2021

I agree that answer is not sufficient Because If anaphylaxis is your reaction than a simple EpiPen Will help So hopefully his answer was to Say you should get it done at a facility

Deleted user February 12, 2021

Hey you alive?

Douglas Kinney Deleted user ⋅ February 15, 2021

Yes, I've been recovering from tendon repair surgery.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.