Lipstick Stamps on my Passport in Magical Realism

  • April 24, 2014, 10:41 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I think I always get a bit restless in April. Oh well, it's almost over. Friday A and I were both running on empty...he is stressed at work and we were both annoyed by yet another apartment purchase that didn't work out. This time - perfect top floor Soho two bedroom, original details including claw-foot tub. (My love!) Our offer was accepted but then financing became an issue since the owner is in France and has the place rented out through next year which makes it technically an investment property. The guy at Chase told us it was just a slightly higher interest rate but he didn't realize there was a difference between a condo and a co-op. Argh. Fannie Mae apparently won't do co-ops as investment properties, so the only places that would do it wanted 40% down and a 10 year adjustable rate mortgage. Yeah, no thanks. Looking at the building financials I had a few questions/concerns too so maybe we dodged a bullet but I really loved that apartment. It would have been so great for hosting out of town guests and dinner parties. Bah. Onward!

Anyway, Friday afternoon and we were stressed. A said he was leaving at 4pm and I had no more meetings so I headed home, bought him some beer and tortilla chips as comfort food. I was supposed to meet Kendra for Vinyasa Yoga but A was NOT into it so I left him home and went to class. Saved Kendra a mat but she never showed up! Yoga was pretty good, I came home, showered and went to sleep early. Proceeded to sleep pretty much all of the next day.

Woke up Saturday afternoon and went to X/Y at Tribeca Film Festival. Highlight of the night was seeing Pam Grier on the street. Movie was not good. America Ferrera (Ugly Betty!) sat in front of us - very pretty, glowy in person. She was wearing the Roland Mouret Abbotsford dress, which I love but is either pregnant or should probably have picked something a more flattering for her height and body shape. I wonder if it was weird for her to see her husband make out heavily with a dude in the movie - they both sat through the whole thing. Dress is better in photos than in person. Can we find something to replace the "skinny arm" pose yet?

Sunday was Easter - we went up to my parents' house for lunch. My mom made us food and also gave me a dress she bought for me, how nice is that?! Caught the train home then went straight out to watch Mad Men. Late night burgers at Corner Bistro - so weird, they have renovated the whole place and apparently have a spin-off in Long Island City. I think they are incorrect in claiming themselves "the last of the bohemian bars in West Greenwich Village" - that is definitely the White Horse Tavern.

Worked from home on Monday, did not shower, did not eat anything but candy. Did work up until the time we had to leave for the next movie. This one was much better, Lucky Them with Toni Collette and Thomas Hayden Church. Again they were right by us - Toni Collette was very tan, toned, and had a really pretty grecian drapey dress on - better in person than in these photos. Nina Arianda from the recent stage play of Venus in Furs was there too, she had this gorgeous drapey burgundy thing on (I totally thought it was a dress, but can see in the photos it's actually a jumpsuit, very interesting and I don't hate it!) A movie of Venus in Furs is actually at Tribeca this year too, but was directed by Roman Polanski so I think we can skip that one. Very bizarrely funny movie about the music scene in Seattle from 90's to present day, I liked it. For some reason both X/Y and Lucky Them had a lot bathroom sex scenes. After the movie we went home, and I stayed up until 2am to crunch numbers in excel and put it into a powerpoint. Bah.

Tuesday was much better. I showered for the first time since Friday (not fit to live with humans), and put on the dress my mom got me. After work I had a drink with my work team at the Dead Rabbit. Neat place, I'd heard a lot about it but never gone in. Menu is a little annoying but it's also a comic book about the life of John Morrissey, founder of the Dead Rabbits gang in old timey NYC, so that's cool. Went home, dropped my bag and met up with A for another movie. This one was by far the best...Jon Favreau's Chef. Just such a nice, funny, interesting and visually stunning movie. I'd say it's the best I've seen all year but it's probably tied with Grand Budapest Hotel. Jon Favreau, John Leguizamo, and Bobby Cannavale were all there, plus Sofia Vergara who was a total vision. I never thought too much about her, but she had this sparkly white dress on and light was just radiating off her. Her body is seriously sick. After the movie we were starving, so we went to Coppelia for arepas and fish tacos, so good! I had a Gran Paloma cocktail and A had a Cuzquena. I am so obsessed with that place.

Yesterday (Wednesday) I went into our midtown office, worked from the common area for a bit then went to see rehearsal of the Tonight Show with Jimmy Fallon with some colleagues. The whole process was kind of grueling - there were a million instructions, lots of waiting and a lot of tourists who felt the need to push and shove even though we all had tickets/numbers, I don't get it. I feel like they then went back to wherever they come from and were like, "New Yorkers are so rude, everyone was pushing and shoving!" A few years ago I saw the Tonight Show with Jay Leno in LA - [summer] was living there and her boyfriend at the time took us. That was fun but I don't think I would ever watch it on TV. After the show I went to the conditioning class with my work workout buddy, showered, and went home. A was working late on a project so I didn't see much of him. He called me to ask some questions about pivot tables (I love excel!) and I straightened up a bit, did dishes, then looked in the fridge. We had some leftover quinoa that A made awhile ago, and some ground meat that the sell-by day was the next day, so I decided to make a meatloaf! Crumbled the meat with the quinoa, an egg, some oatmeal, some ketchup, some soy sauce, and some ground black pepper. (Seven ingredients, but bonus points for using up things about to expire.) He came home around midnight, and we watched "The Following" (So good!)

Today I came in early for an 8am call. It is now 11:35am EST and I am far too excited to eat that meatloaf!


Deleted user April 24, 2014

Too bad about your apartment. Now where will M & I stay on our weekly NYC trips? :D I love Toni Collette!! And I love clawfoot bathtubs. And I LOVE Excel. :)

pandora April 24, 2014

Who were the guests when you went to Kimmel? Toni Collette is stunning--I love that she doesn't look like anyone else.

Satine pandora ⋅ April 24, 2014

Cameron Diaz and The Roots!

pandora Satine ⋅ April 24, 2014

The Roots are always there--that's his house band! :)

Satine pandora ⋅ April 24, 2014

Hahahah you can tell I am a huge fan of the show. Good for him though, they are awesome! I miss the Man Show with Jimmy Kimmel - now that was a good show!

Satine pandora ⋅ April 24, 2014

Hahahah you can tell I am a huge fan of the show. Good for him though, they are awesome! I miss the Man Show with Jimmy Kimmel - now that was a good show!

TellTaleHeart April 24, 2014

I have SUCH a crush on Jimmy Fallon... I have GOT to get tickets to his show sometime. :)

nowthat'salady April 24, 2014

I am jealous that you saw Toni Collette in person. I love her and think she is such a unique beauty (apparently I'm not the only one based on your other notes-ha!).

Your meatloaf concoction sounds good! I'm always looking for different ways to use quinoa.

~Mrs. O~ April 24, 2014

Sorry about the apartment, but I'm sure the right one will come along soon enough. =)

Glad you had a nice easter, and your Monday sounds like a dream. The Dead Rabbit looks like my kinda place!

I can't stand when people get pushy, seems to happen to me everywhere I go (it's one of the reasons I loathe grocery shopping and so I typically go very early in the morning before all the hungry beasts descend upon the aisles. Crowds definitely are NOT my thing haha.

hot-lips April 24, 2014

That's such a shame about the apartment, but if you had doubts, perhaps it's for the best. Maybe something better will come along & with a claw tub in tow! lol Plus a 40% deposit is madness! Here the standard is 10% and even that's a lot. So cool you got to see all the celebs. I think it would be weird to watch a whole film with my bf making out with someone else and especially a man. But maybe they're used to it given their job.

Caty Shark April 24, 2014

I'd watch both Lucky Them and Chef, hopefully they make it up to the GWN

dickson. April 24, 2014

Frig, maybe NY should be on my travel list. It's actually ridiculous how gorgeous Sophia Vergara is.

sarahbaby. April 24, 2014

I need to start making notes of restaurants to try next time I go to NYC -- your entries are amazing!

Lilly has been weirdly asking for meatloaf -- will try your version!

Satine sarahbaby. ⋅ April 24, 2014

If I made it again I think I would use ground turkey instead of the beef...

sarahbaby. Satine ⋅ April 24, 2014

Okay thanks -- gonna do it!

cariad April 24, 2014

Toni Collette is fabulous, have loved her since Muriels Wedding!

You make meatloaf sound magical....never thought of using quinoa (which I am obsessed with at the moment), thanks for the tip ;-)

Sorry about the apartment, but it does sound like you dodged a bullet there.

nightborn April 24, 2014

Oh hon, I'm sorry about the apartment. It sounded amazing. But seriously, 40% down and an ARM? No thank you! Jeez. Fingers crossed that you get your dream apartment soon.

NYC is always full of celebs! P&M have seen Cameron Diaz, Madonna, Jake Gylenhaal and many others.

Bella Jess nightborn ⋅ April 26, 2014

ARM loans are horrid and awful. I didn't realize our lending rules at Chase (where I work) have differences in investment lending with co-ops!

BlueEyedDevil April 24, 2014

Ok, when you say you and A "went out" to watch Mad Men... you leave to watch TV?? Where do you go??

And I'm dying to try the meatloaf with quinoa instead of breadcrumbs! I wonder if I can hide it without C suspecting anything, otherwise he'd definitely boycott it as "Communist food," lol.

missing maui April 24, 2014

Oh Toni Colette. Love her so much! Also, you said you noticed there were lots of bathroom sex scenes and then said you went home and...I thought you were going to say you went home and had lots of sex in the bathroom. Which, if you did, more power to you. But I think for me, it's my least favorite room for sex having. Maybe because I'm a germaphobe? Anyway, sorry for the random tangent, just where my brain went. :)

In other reactions to this post: 1) I'm TOTALLY stealing the idea of quinoa in meatloaf. How did you get so brilliant? Were you born that way? :) 2) The Following. Oh, the Following. WHO NEW EMACIATED KEVIN BACON COULD BE SO HOT??? But seriously, the plot line of that show is beyond ridiculous and yet, I still love it. 3) I miss reading all your entries. Need to get on here more and make it (you) a habit.

kmh. April 24, 2014

Bummer about the apartment. It does kinda sound like you dodged a bullet though.

Love Toni Collette. Was her very early movie Muriel's Wedding known over there? It's such a classic daggy Aussie film.

Sofia Vergara - I would totally turn for her.

LeftisRight April 24, 2014

I'm so jealous of the movies and your cultural knowledge!!

Bluesea April 28, 2014

Ugh, sorry about the apartment. I hear the real estate market is pretty brutal up there, especially since it's turned around in the past year.

aglow April 29, 2014

Ohhhhh don't mind me, just over here having a swoon-fest over all the gorgeous dresses.
I super-love the one America Ferrera was in; the collar, especially. And Sofia Vergera's sparkly magic-dress? Hello, hi, gorgeous forever. Homegirl has dressing for her shape dowwwwn.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.