Not my favorite part of having cats in The Cats

  • Jan. 30, 2021, 7:59 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I will start off stating I adore my cats but I hate having to clean the litterboxes and litter mat. I Have had these two for over 6 years and I should know how to clean the mat better but in my old place I had a tub and here a shower stall so I am not sure how easy to do this. I was so glad the vet called and so I checked with them. They gave me some great tips and about to do that.

As for the litterbox of course I clean it out daily but a full washing at least every two weeks with bleach and new litter.

The main purpose of their call was to confirm Sky’s appointment on Monday. We also discussed alternatives if the weather is bad as expected.


Ellen Ripley January 30, 2021

The litter tray is the worrsst!!!! Our youngest cat enjoys spraying kitty litter everywhere and wiping his little hind-end on the floor, so we built a special "kitty loo" in the basement to keep it all contained. One of my cats peed in an HVAC duct vent, and now the house smells of urine whenever the heat is turned on.

katieP Ellen Ripley ⋅ January 30, 2021

Happily before moving to the condo I got a new litter tray that has deep sides. It has considerably lessened but I still have to clean it up and I htink its because of me. :)

I have to say these two haven't peed anywhere else that I am aware of thank Goodness but if I keep making sky come out of the cabinets he may show me whose boss.

Deleted user January 30, 2021

get a handheld shower head? I mean idk why anyone wouldn't have one even if they aren't cleaning litter mats

katieP Deleted user ⋅ January 30, 2021

I actually do have a hand held one but its not a strong powerful force (hey is after 10 and I am tired). I was also cleaning it in a walk in shower or handicap accessible shower. It was getting to be a bigger mess than I was willing to deal with.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.