Del Boy? in The View from the Terrace

  • Jan. 26, 2021, 8:35 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I saw such a funny thing this morning. I looked out of the living room window and a small white van went by, on the side it read -

Carpet fitting
London Paris New York Llanederyn

Llanederyn is a little village just north of Cardiff. Maybe Del Boy has moved there as I assume that is where they got the idea!

We went to Tesco’s to do some shopping last week. It was a nightmare. I saw 4 people either without masks or with them not over their nose, and 3 were members of staff. One of the people without a mask was serving on the fish counter selling unwrapped food! Now, if he happens to be exempt he really should be working in a different part of the shop. I’ve been feeling so nervous lately. I went to the post office the other day and there was a woman in there with 3 young children. I know children are exempt but they were running around shouting while I was forced to stand in a queue in a very small shop. It would be awful to catch the virus now with the vaccination due any time. That has just happened to a friend of mine who is in her 70s. She went to help care for a friend who had had a fall and it turned out the friend had the virus. I do hope my friend gets through it Ok. I have already lost one friend to this horrible disease.

Hubby came down on Saturday to bring my medication. I had asked him to bring my black fleece trousers. He arrived with a pair of three quarter flannel trousers which probably wouldn’t have fitted me even in the 70s when I was several sizes smaller. I have no idea where he got them from as I have never seen them before. I should have known better than to ask him to bring something after what happened last time. He also brought back my Christmas gift to him, a pair of pyjamas, as they sent a medium even though I ordered an extra large. Perhaps Hubby should apply for a job with them.

Louise and I watched a lovely film on Netflix on Sunday evening. It was A Dog’s Journey. It was about a dog who kept reincarnating in order to fulfill a promise to his first owner to look after his granddaughter, told from the dog’s point of view. It sounds a bit crazy but was actually very beautiful.

On Saturday we had our first sprinkling of snow. I woke up to see the ground and all of the roofs covered in white. Yesterday there was still some lying there but the sun was shining. It was a beautiful crisp, glistening winter’s day. I even got some of the washing dry. Today it is raining again and I have to go back to the post office to return Hubby’s pyjamas. Wish me luck.


toddslife January 26, 2021

good luck

Marg January 27, 2021

Haha laughing at your comments about your hapless hubby! That film sounds interesting - I had looked at it but thought it might be more of a kids kind of film. Best of luck with the P.O. - I have to brave one today too so hopefully neither of us will come home with anything ‘extra’! :)

Jinn January 28, 2021

I need to watch that movie :-)
Stay safe !

Oswego February 03, 2021

I had to smile. Poor hubby has bad luck with clothes. I’m sure he meant well! 😌

I would be nervous in that queue, too. I have been to the post office once in 10 months, and I used to go at least weekly. Not been in a grocery store in almost a year, too. I do miss my old routines, but not enough to chance getting Covid and it’s looking like April at the earliest for a chance at the vaccine. Strange times indeed!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.