New job! in Daily life

  • Jan. 22, 2021, 9:11 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Started the job yesterday at the AL place as a “dietary aide “. The first part, going to the resident ‘s room (due to Covid they have to eat in their room) to see if they wanted what was offered for dinner was pretty fun but then the set up with the trays seemed a bit confusing. They told me I will get the hang of it. I have to wear a N95 mask, then a disposable mask and then a plastic shield over all of that and then I clock in! When I clock out the N95 mask goes into a paper bag with the hours I worked, the disposable mask gets thrown away and the plastic shield I disinfect and goes into another paper bag for the next day along with a clean N95 mask. I think it will be ok once I get the hang of it, which they said I would and I did good. The dinner last night was a chicken cheese steak with peppers and onions, cheese curls (I thought that was odd that it was fries or at least chips), pickles and then an orange creamsicle or a chocolate ice cream bar. It looked good and I could have eaten it but just had water, maybe next time. The lunches are more elaborate because the residents are more active then. It is only for three hours a couple times during the week and every other weekend so we shall see. I think I am going to like it tho. There is a memory care side but I wasn’t on that side last night just the regular side. The residents seemed very sweet (only a couple I felt bad for because of their frailties but I am sure on the memory care side it will be a bit sadder) and I am looking forward to getting to know them better. My co-workers seem very nice as well, a young kid and then another girl, probably in her late 20s and then the chef probably late 30s or so. I am of the age that I could be one of the residents, 😂 but for now I will take just working there.


ConnieK January 22, 2021

At least you get a good look at the place beforehand. That way, when or if you have to become a resident, you'll know if its a good place. :)

Cheese curls are not food and pickles are not vegetables.

Queensuzu1 ConnieK ⋅ January 22, 2021

i know i was surprised about the cheese curls but it is a really nice place. I could live there, lol!

Jinn January 23, 2021

It’s good that you think you are going to like it . :-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.