Well that was painful. But now there are kudos! in Site Updates

  • April 23, 2014, 2:53 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

OK, hopefully things are working now. My apologies if you've been getting errors for the last few minutes.

So we'll see if this works. This is Phase One of "Kudos" (or likes, or plus ones, or I'm diggin' it, or whatever). You'll see a shiny new Thumbs Up button that you can clicky-click on to give someone a kudo. The kudos count will show on the main page.

I do intend to make this more interesting by listing the people who gave kudos, and notifications. But this is just Phase One. I'll poke around to make sure the site isn't broken then I'm out for the night.

EDIT: It's not currently working. Hmmm.

EDIT EDIT: OK, looks like it's working now. Whew. Also, it's purely an upvoting thing, so no worries about down votes here.


ThisIsME April 23, 2014

I clicked it and it highlighted but once I clicked the text box it unhighlighted. I am on a tablet not sure if that matters orr wwe just don't see anything after wwe clk

simple mind ThisIsME ⋅ April 23, 2014

Should be working now. I'm surprised it highlighted at all for you while it was broken. But yes, it lights up to let you know you've clicked in (and can be toggled off if pushed by mistake).

Deleted user April 23, 2014

i appreciate this, but please don't institute downvotes. they would surely be abused. :(

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ April 23, 2014

No down votes, it's purely up!

Reading_Blankie 📚 April 23, 2014

oh, I so agree with the "downvotes" thing. It would bring you MORE DRAMA if you did.

Deleted user April 23, 2014

The only drama I like is Hamlet.

Loki Deleted user ⋅ April 25, 2014

  • and the Scottish play!
Deleted user April 23, 2014

Kudos to you!

Leanne 🌈 April 23, 2014

Kudos not my thing passing on this but thanks anyways.

minnie58 April 23, 2014

EWS came up with this idea for his Easy Diary site weeks ago and it doesn't identify who pressed the like button. A better idea not to make a diary site anything like facebook which is the drama capital of cyberspace. Good luck with whatever you decide.

Leslie Bruce April 23, 2014

Meh. I would rather people leave a comment that click "like".

Deleted user April 23, 2014

Good intention. So, Kudos to you. But this site should not be competing with features of FB, G+, and other social site. The interaction here is a lot more personal and sincere.

Deleted user April 23, 2014

It's interesting that not everyone is on board with this. I've long wished for something to let someone know that I read their entry, because I don't always have time to leave notes, or I'm reading on my phone while in the bus/subway, for example, and it's really difficult. I imagine it could lead to people pressing the kudos button instead of leaving a supportive comment, but choice is not a bad thing. Good friends will always make efforts to interact.

I wonder if 'kudos' is the best term, because it would be strange to leave kudos for sad entries. Sometimes friends write something really sad or moving, and it's hard to know what to say; that's when I wish there was a heart or a hug to leave them. Too cheesy? Is it worth discussing what the button's main 'expression' of support should be? Thanks again for all your work on these things!!

Jigger April 23, 2014

I think it's a nice idea, but I'm afraid a lot of people will start just kudoing rather than actually thinking and noting. And that would make me sad. I'm here to write, but I stay for the social interaction. I don't want this awesome place to become like FB, where you "like" and move on. I mean, hell, look at FB--most people don't even write statuses anymore-- they just share memes and call it good.

Deleted user Jigger ⋅ April 23, 2014

I actually have no doubt my friends on PB who leave meaningful comments will continue to do so. That's what friends do.

caffeinequeen April 23, 2014

I thought you meant Kudos like the granola bar and then I was excited and then I was sad because no granola bars. :(

Deleted user April 23, 2014

Argh! You do know that the word "kudos" (from the Greek) is already singular and there is no such thing as a "kudo," don't you? I assume so, and "Kudo" is meant as a sort of joke, but it's one of my pet peeves and I certainly wouldn't click on it. It's like calling a single rhinoceros a "rhinocero" or a single lens a "len."

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ April 23, 2014

I wasn't sure whether or not the singular was valid. Merriam-Webster would lead me to believe that "kudo" is correct. However, I suppose with words like "selfie" being added, dictionaries aren't really a reliable source any more.

Shattered simple mind ⋅ April 24, 2014

Amen to that!!

Deleted user April 28, 2014

I don't know how to use this feature

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.