Stupidity At The Polls in Life After 60

  • Jan. 18, 2021, 3:34 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

We are one of the few countries I know of that eliminates many good candidates for office by the stupid preliminary process. There have been times when the candidate I would want to vote for has dropped out before our state’s primary. So here is what I propose.
Congress, (oh, shutter that thought!) picks one day when every state votes for the President. The two with the highest number win. No clear winner, then go to the process of elimination. At least this way, the entire country could vote for the same candidates at the beginning instead of letting a few early states getting to narrow the field.


Neogy Titwhistle January 18, 2021

Ranked choice voting. Look it up. The electoral college has never worked as intended. Nobody has a plan to fix the Senate though. For the last decade when the Senate had the majority, which represented only 14% of the US population, nothing was done. Except to lose the vote to repeal the ACA sixty times!

Douglas Kinney Neogy Titwhistle ⋅ January 19, 2021

I am just saying, forget the primary vote the way we do it. Everyone votes on the same day all across the nation. As for fixing the Senate, when I see idiots post let's impeach Pelosi or some of the others, I laugh....Drain the swamp from lawyers and professional politicians and vote in the average person. None of them have my best interest at heart, they just care about themselves..

Nash January 18, 2021

It is "shudder the thought" unless you are a photographer. Ranked choice voting is not a new idea and is currently used in a lot of places.

Douglas Kinney Nash ⋅ January 19, 2021

I know it's not a new idea, but it would be for our Presidental Elections. And while I am a photographer, maybe it in my instance it should still be shutter...LOL

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.