Early Mornings, but routines. in Tales of Employment.

  • April 22, 2014, 5:57 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Alright, so on the work front. It would appear that I am getting that mini promotion thing. It's not the main promotion that was open, I don't think, but it is still something. I have been working consistent hours. Mornings either 6-2:30 or 9-4:30. I have been at 39 hours consistently for the past several weeks. Gotta try and keep me under 40 hours to avoid giving me benefits, and yet they constantly are about to ask me to stay and help out...but they want me under 40 hours. So...there's that. That being said, supposedly I am getting a raise. I have no clue what my new wage is. And it's frustrating because one dude in the back room constantly talks to me like my only responsibility in this new position is back-stocking the freezer and cooler...which it isn't. I maintain the produce section. (Which is really just coolers/freezers) Yogurt, eggs, meats. Because our store doesn't really have any fresh produce. I have to keep eyes on dates, and bakery table freshness, and the like. Cleaning the windows to the cooler doors. Push milk, make sure we are stocked up on the floor of what we have in the back for the area. Which doesn't sound all that difficult, but god damnit...people don't do their jobs right, so they don't check dates, and push the stuff about to expire and need to be pulled to the back, so I have to spend a shit load of time pulling stuff from the back of the shelf and making sure it's right. They also do not check the end caps, so I have to move stuff to the end caps. I have to push a shit ton of stuff when the trucks come in, but the flow team mains that, while I mainly focus on the dates in the mornings and then focus on maintaining the stock. So I should be getting that position. I have no idea if it is official or not yet. An LOD asked me if I would be interested and I said of course...it's more money. And I thrive on having that routine. So, I am waiting to officially be told that that IS my job. So that shit's good, I suppose. Oh and they needed me BAD the other day. I covered so much shit. I did reshop in the AM because there was soooo much, then I did my market main priorities, then had to cover electronics for a bit...sold 4 games in 15 minutes of being there, then they had a call out on the cart duty job, so I had to go out and help with that periodically. So I had a rough time getting my actual priorities done, not counting I spent half the day on the register because they needed the back up something fierce. So, I am kind of too damn good of a worker, and I KNOW that at least 2 of the managers are aware of it. The store manager and an HR/manager guy are both super reliant on me. Oh, and one kid was scheduled for register, and then ended up taking over on carts, and he was being a little shit all day like it was the worst thing in the world. Dude...it's been beautiful out. You want to spend time in the cooler/freezers and do all the shit I got to, because Fuck I would have done the carts myself if I didn't have those responsibilities. Carts are easy as fuck, and on beautiful days like that....it's nice to have that time outside and being able to kind of relax while doing it. Compared to the hectic as fuck work I do, the carts sounded nice. Oh, I also don't get written onto the break schedule so I just go at the 5 hour mark, roughly. I like it. I can work work, and then just take the 30 about when I have to.

A lot of stress lately though. I will cover that in another "book."


Reading_Blankie 📚 April 22, 2014

I'm glad you got that promotion. :)

TheKing Reading_Blankie 📚 ⋅ April 23, 2014

I'm still waiting for it to be official so. Fingers still crossed. I'm assuming I got it since I'm continuously being scheduled that way.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.