Never a Joiner, Never a Joiner in Never Say Never

  • April 22, 2014, 7:14 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Would really love to know at what point I learn that I am not a joiner to the effect of NOT JOINING ANYTHING. I really have a hard head on some points.

All I really wanted to do was 40 days of yoga. I really had no intention of meditating twice a day for 40 days, or keeping a food diary, or eating only 800 calories of fruit for three days, or journaling daily about the whole experience. And as it turns out, I really had no intention of attending weekly meetings with 70 someodd other yogis to get what is essentially Landmark Light. No shit. I tried to figure out what came first, the current version of the Landmark language or Baron Baptiste's "revolutionary journey." I couldn't determine, but most likely it's that Baron's parents were early converts of EST and he himself is a Landmark graduate -- thus the Lululemon connection to Landmark. Isn't it interesting how those things have gotten all tangled up?

Anyway, I've spent roughly 70 hours in Landmark programs and about 30 hours in therapy, and I feel that there's very little the 40 days of Personal Revolution can do for me -- except to remind me of what I already know: I am not a joiner, large groups drive me bananas, I absolutely do not believe in any kind of fasting for myself, I will forge my own path in my own time.

I do appreciate, however, that somewhere between a conference room on Spring Valley Road and a sixth-floor office at Lee Park, I learned to let go of whatever was making me label myself "bad" for being they way I am and embracing the fact that I am human, which means I am perfect in my imperfections and that nothing about me is broken or needs fixing, and that having limits does not equate to being a failure.

Since April 1, I have done 1,230 minutes of yoga (or 20.5 hours). I don't love that I find the teachers too chatty or preachy or full of judgments, but I do my best to breathe and move and ignore the urge to growl "just shut the fuck up."

That's growth by any measure.


Satine April 22, 2014

So I googled Landmark and poked around their site a bit and still not really sure what to make of it? Is is a cult? I could definitely see Lululemon being part of a cult.

Athena Satine ⋅ April 22, 2014

satine, it is definitely cultish. it's not a cult, but a lot of people do build their lives around it, talk in landmark code, and are friends with only people who have completed the program. i got many useful insights from attending and it is designed to reprogram you. it's not the kind of thing i would ever push anyone to do, though many graduates are VERY pushy about it, which i think lends to its cultish reputation.

Nash April 22, 2014

http://onetaste.us/

These folks got a rep for being a cult a few years ago. The Bay Guardian did a huge story on it. Of course, I think they are selling toys rather than yoga pants.

Athena Nash ⋅ April 24, 2014

Hilarious. Fifteen minutes. Not that impressive.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.