Away from it all in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • Jan. 10, 2021, 3:58 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

But indeed, it is not so much for its beauty that the forest makes a claim upon men’s hearts, as for that subtle something, that quality of the air, that emanation from the old trees, that so wonderfully changes and renews a weary spirit.

Robert Louis Stevenson

Today, and during this coming week, I’m planning to visit some of my favorite forested areas and spend time amid Nature as a way to keep myself grounded and sane during this pandemic and chaotic time in the life of the country. Walking along these treasured woodland paths I’ve known and cherished for more than 20 years, is the only way I can remove myself from the news and my obsession with my phone. Whoever thought a technological device, giving access to the entire universe of the a Internet, would have so much power to compel my attention with its myriad diversions and attractions. Whoever thought first computers, and then smart phones would change everything. And now in times of national crisis, they and cable news bring it all terrifyingly close. I could not bear to look at clips and images of that mob of goons and cultists desecrating the nation’s Capitol. I was thankful I don’t have Cable.

Walking underneath a canopy of trees in a quiet park or forest enables me to get away from a world that seems to be imploding, and not so quietly now. In the woods, gazing up at ancient trees makes me realize there is life outside the Internet. There is Nature. There is a way to get away from a world that seems to be imploding, and not so quietly now. Escape! escape! I tell myself, and soon I will.

Trees and woodland scenes near me that I cherish:

https://www.flickr.com/gp/camas/ji6sj3


Last updated January 10, 2021


A Pedestrian Wandering January 10, 2021

Lovely, lovely photos! Would that more people take this needed break, our world would be more calm.

Oswego A Pedestrian Wandering ⋅ January 11, 2021

Thank you! The weather is is perfect for almost unlimited walks, and our woods have many evergreen trees — live oaks (they shed their leaves in Spring, but quickly releaf), hollies, pines and myrtles.

MageB January 10, 2021

Lovely.

Oswego MageB ⋅ January 11, 2021

Thank you!

Jinn January 10, 2021

I wish I had places like that near me . We don’t :-( and it’s very cold . 20F today. I am wishing my life away thinking how much I hate Winter . Ugh !

Oswego Jinn ⋅ January 11, 2021

The coldest we ever get is in the range 26-32, and that’s only for a day or two in January. Eight months of the year here the weather is pretty much perfect. Mostly sunny days and cool to mild temps. I am very spoiled. Winter weather now is invigoratingly cool, the kind of weather you love to be out in. ((Sorry, got a little carried away). We pay for it in summer, however, which is very hot and humid, but everyone has A/C, and everyplace is air conditioned.

Jinn Oswego ⋅ January 11, 2021

I would choose hot and humid over this any day :-)

Kristi1971 January 12, 2021

Hikes are my favorite getaways. :) Nature just calls to the soul and reminds us we are part of it all.

Deleted user January 12, 2021 (edited January 12, 2021)

Edited

So good you will hike and spend time in the forests. The best thing to do for the mind and find calm and peace. Far away from turmoil, aggression and anger. Humanity seems to be getting more and more angry ....the world is going crazy. Here on this side of the ocean it is quiet, but since we can watch about 200 news channels ... or maybe even more, some events look as if they happen in our backyard. A terrifying time! In the meantime I have an unpleasant conflict with my sister that has been on my mind for the past few days, and a good friend has to undergo a long-term chemotherapy from tomorrow on. She no longer has a close family. I'll talk to her on the phone because we're still in a lockdown.
Winter here and very cold, but we also plan to get out into nature the next few days. Enjoy your walks dear friend. 🍀🙂

Sabrina-Belle January 13, 2021

What beautiful woods. I really miss the countryside. I haven't been out of the city for 2 months. We have parks but it is very cold at the moment.

ConnieK January 13, 2021

Nature brings peace. I'm glad you fit that into your day.

Oswego ConnieK ⋅ January 14, 2021

Today and every day. If I can. Nature seems like the only sane and rational force in our world right now.

Newzlady January 13, 2021

Love the sunlight through the moss!

Marg January 17, 2021

And they will all be still there waiting for you once we get past all this :)

Oswego Marg ⋅ January 17, 2021

Very much so. That fact offers me hope and comfort.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.