The Capitol in Musings

  • Jan. 7, 2021, 11:43 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I wasn’t going to watch the coverage of the electoral count because Im just so worn out by it all but I have been trying to watch things directly as much as I can instead of trying to hear snippets of things taken out of context later. I was watching the Senator from my state (Oklahoma) talk when I heard the gavel bang and knew something was wrong.

I was on a group text with my friends and we were all letting each other know what we were hearing. Then the footage started rolling in. Windows breaking. People armed. All the flags. People on the house floor. In offices.

But where was the tear gas? The rubber bullets. It’s tragic that 4 people lost their lives but we all know if these people were BLM the body count would have been higher.

I wasn’t shocked. But I was horrified. And sick to my stomach. Especially as I see a message from our president not condemning them. But coddling them like they were simply toddlers having a temper tantrum. Unreal. Like something out of a movie.

I watched an interview with a guy who had the dead woman’s blood literally on his hands. But metaphorically it’s on so many people’s hands. President Trump of course but also everyone who enabled him. All those that ignored us when we raised concerns over the last four years. People who posted baseless claims and wild conspiracy theories.

Words matter. Truth matters. I don’t believe in censorship but you simply can not say whatever you want with no consequences to your actions. These were those consequences. What happened yesterday was inevitable and I am glad more people weren’t hurt. I don’t want the police to hurt more people. I just wish they treated anyone of color with half the amount of restraint they showed yesterday.

I scrolled through some entries here to get a pulse on what people not in my circle are saying. Most people are in agreement with what I have said here. Some were in the camp of it was bad but wasn’t Trumps fault. And some people are finally denouncing Trump. I’m sad that it took the latter group this long to come around but if that’s you I’m glad you’re finally seeing it. Welcome to reality.

My older daughter is the same age I was when the Oklahoma City bombing happened. I still remember that day when my aunt who worked across the street from the bombing called to say she was okay. I remember my parents explaining to me in the most rudimentary way what happened. I remember them being shocked and scared. My daughters will remember this day. Trump said to “never forget this day” and we won’t, Mr President. We won’t.


Last updated January 10, 2021


Deleted user January 08, 2021

The coverage was very hard to watch. It almost looked like it was a joke to some of them who arrived in costume.

Alice, Falling January 08, 2021

<3 agree with you 100%

CountingStars January 08, 2021

I have young teenage daughters. This was a really hard day to watch with them, to explain to them. To try and help them understand the gravity of what they were seeing without terrifying them beyond words.

Deleted user January 10, 2021

I can’t sleep. I also watched it live and it is haunting me. I was screaming at the tv “Where is the National Guard!?!?” The videos that keep coming out are just horrific... And then there’s all the Trump supporters who are still saying it was Antifa. And they were at my states capitol today with guns and zip ties. And they’re planning an even bigger attack next weekend. And my damn Crazy neighbors took down their think blue line flag but kept their trump flag raised. It’s disgusting. My anxiety is a mess..... and we all saw this coming for months!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.