I Have a Prolixity, but at Least There's a Point. in General Mental Anesthesia

  • Jan. 7, 2021, 10:31 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

So here’s some new information…

Many of you know my health history as of late, or in part at least; it’s quite scattered from ulcerative colitis to knee and back injuries to respiratory disease.

Ulcerative colitis is and has always been the catalyst to other health concerns, case in point: I’ve had asthma my whole life. As a child, it was known as Asthma Variant. Allergies triggered attacks as well as sustained athletics. Now, I was a professional swimmer all throughout my childhood, but I could only compete short distances. 50m, 100m if I pushed it. I could run, and I was fast, but I couldn’t run track without keeling over in pain, unable to breathe.

I truly miss being active, swimming, hiking, my work… I miss it all so much!

My asthma has worsened tremendously over the past couple of years. I don’t have to move to have an asthma attack. I was diagnosed with pulmonary embolisms (blood clots in both lungs). I see a pulmonologist regularly. Above and beyond the hypocalcemia and its complications mentioned in my previous entry, I also I suffer with tachycardia (elevated heartbeat). A resting heart rate should be 60-70bpm, I’m always over 100bpm. It’s related to my inability to take deep breaths, and regulate my breathing combined with chronic bronchitis.

I’m just now starting to get over some of the side effects of the chemo treatments I was on for my ulcerative colitis, like bending my fingers without crying in pain.

I just found out that my pulmonologist is trying to get me on Nucala, a biologic series of monthly injections for my new diagnosis of: ‘severe eosinophilic asthma’. At $3,120.19 per injection, she needs to try to get Medicaid to help cover it.

Eosinophilic asthma is a rare form of asthma that 5% of asthma sufferers have.

Eosinophilic asthma is associated with an abnormally high level of eosinophils, a type of white blood cell. Eosinophils play a role in how your immune system works. They help protect your body against harmful things like bacteria or parasites by releasing chemicals that cause inflammation. But when eosinophils come into contact with cells in your airways, they can cause inflammation that triggers asthma.

As with other types of asthma, people with eosinophilic asthma will experience symptoms like wheezing, coughing, chest tightness and shortness of breath. But there are a few additional symptoms that are often seen with eosinophilic asthma.

  1. They don’t respond well to asthma treatments such as inhalers and nebulizers.

  2. It generally occurs in adults.

  3. Eosinophilic asthma causes swelling along the entire respiratory tract from the sinuses to the lower airways, obstructing airflow and increasing mucus production. This can lead to chronic sinus and ear infections. Patients may report stuffy or runny nose, drainage from the ears, and decreased sense of smell and hearing. Nasal polyps, which are small, painless tear-drop shaped skin growths, are often present.

  4. When eosinophilic asthma remains untreated, irreversible changes in the structure of your airways can occur, causing chronic airway obstruction. Patients may experience difficulty breathing with physical activity, and lung function tests in the doctor’s office can show decreased flow of air through the lungs. There may be similarities with another lung disease, chronic obstructive pulmonary disorder (COPD), and eosinophilic asthma may even be mistaken for COPD at times.

(I’ve had the PFT test last year (IT WAS AN ABSOLUTE HELL!!!!!). I’d rather be stuck with needles repeatedly than to ever go through that again… and I have to very soon). :(

  1. Many people with asthma also have underlying allergies, such as dust or animal dander. Exposure to the allergen can start an inflammatory response in the body, leading to an asthma attack. However, people with eosinophilic asthma generally don’t have a history of allergies. (This is the only thing that’s different, as I have a lot of allergies).

It gets better.

Eosinophils, the white blood cells that cause this type of asthma, can attack other parts of your body. One common target is the gastrointestinal tract. So, my uc affects other areas of my body (it’s all inflammation). It makes my asthma more severe and my asthma makes my uc flares worse.

THE ICING ON THE CAKE.

“Nucala” as mentioned above is very similar (medicinally) to the chemo treatments I was on for my uc. It is an immunosuppressant, that works the same way and has some horrendous side effects like… get ready for it…

Back pain
Flu-like symptoms
Fatigue
Muscle spasms
Itching
Headache
Pain in the muscles or bones
toothaches
Nausea
Dizziness
Bronchitis
Pain at the injection site

and oh joy, so much more!

A rare side effect is Shingles, and I’ve had chickenpox as a kid, so that’s a possibility now, ugh…

It’s scary because I already deal with these things. I have had frequent tooth abscesses. The worst pain on the planet in my opinion, and I don’t think I can tolerate much more back pain, as it is, I’m on Dilaudid which has zero effect on my back pain.

And last but not least… the injector has citrate in it. If you don’t know what that means, it means that when you get the shot… IT BURNS LIKE A MOTHERF*CKER!!!!!!!! 🤬😭

My pug Boba Fetch knows I’m really stressed out.

Please Click Here: I Need All The Help I Can Get

Thank you. G-D Bless!


Leanne 🌈 January 09, 2021

My son deals with tachycardia I believe my maternal grandmother as well. Hubby has asthma that at times gets so bad he worries me. Anything to do with health care expenses in this country suck balls the amount of money ggggrrrrrr

Sometimes the side effects make me not wanting to take the medication damn if ya don't & damn if ya don't. I have had my share of nasty side effects with certain meds.

Give your pup a hug from me doggies are so amazing. :)

Stay Safe (((HUGS))).

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes Leanne 🌈 ⋅ January 17, 2021

I used to be a dinosaur, I was a tachycardosaurus.

It's probably true.

I just burnt the hell out of myself. I made some food, it was piping hot. I was carrying it from the kitchen when my back spasmed. It wasn't even a bad one, very minor, but I jerked a bit because of it and the food spilt all over me and the floor. I didn't fall, but I have two blisters on the palm of my left hand. Yeah... it was hot!

Because I have no income, I haven't hiked taxes, I don't need to. But because the last stimulus check came in the mail, I still haven't got this one. I looked it up, it's scheduled to be mailed on May, 28th. Are you fucking kidding me? Of all the people in need, aren't I in the group of 'pay that dude first?'.

I desperately need to find a disability lawyer that works in NC. I don't know if I can hire anyone out of state, but I have an update that is infuriating! Still waiting on it.

Stay safe as well.

Leanne 🌈 Exhumed By Scrying Eyes ⋅ January 18, 2021

Sorry about your burns ouch also sorry everything was spilled. Freaking May 28th WTAF! I freaking hate our government MF's ALL of them. Now instead of $2,000.00 they want to give us $1,400.00. The way things are as always only the 1% assholes get all they need while the rest of us get it up the ass screw capitalism. Ours was direct deposit & it went to pay bills.

I hope you find a good lawyer it took DJ a while to find one that is good. I think the lawyer was referred by another disabled friend. Ask around see if anyone you know can hook you up with one. DJ goes in front of a judge next month & because of freaking Covid it will be done via a freaking phone call. They truly make it in a way that you just want to give the F up like why bother so much red tape & BS.

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes Leanne 🌈 ⋅ January 25, 2021

$2000 total. I always thought that. The extra 6 would've been nice though, cause I'm broke as shit!

DevilishlyInnocent January 12, 2021

Hugs

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes DevilishlyInnocent ⋅ January 17, 2021

And to you, thank you.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.