Grades coming in... in The Daily (2014)

  • April 21, 2014, 11:09 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The real action is one entry back in the friends only book. But, I have gotten two of my final grades back… an A- in my Oral history Practicum and (unsurprisingly) a C- in Math 190…. I am not super pleased about the former of those marks, but not terribly surprised. I know I could have done better if I was doing this on my own and I am upset because I know that we lost a tonne of marks because that final project was shit. If I had been doing it on my own, that would have been an A. Oh well. An A- isn't bad.

I hate looking at what the last couple semesters of anxiety and depression and mental health problems has done to my Cumulative GPA.. I went from a 3.75 to a 3.54 (and this is going to drop further once my GIS mark comes in). I think my upper division GPA is higher though… I have nothing below a B+ in an upper division course, and the majority at the in the A range.

Okay, but, really, I think the bigger issue here that I need to address is why I am so hung up on grades. I know that I have a good enough GPA to have a decent pick of grad schools. And that is all that matter really. And I probably won't be picking /the best/ grad school because I have to consider Liz's willingness to pick up and move and what we can afford. So, I have what I need. So, why is it is that I am allowing myself to be so disappointed in myself for struggling at a time when I have been struggling very badly emotionally and still maintaining decent grades? I have such a strong need for external gratification, and it isn't terrible healthy.


theocean. April 22, 2014

Ugh, the stress over grades. I have been told over and over again that first and second year grades (or the pre-clinical grades) matter significantly less than third and fourth year grades (or the clinical grades) in medical school when applying for residencies... Yet I'm already stressing myself out about how I'm going to manage the heavy load of material in med school as someone with a non-science background and still manage honors? Riiiight, because that matters. But yes, I'm pre-stressing about it. LOL, and so I have no advice except that we've both got to be nicer to ourselves with this stuff!

softea theocean. ⋅ April 22, 2014

Ohmygosh, that is exactly what my counsellor always tells me-- "have compassion with yourself"! We both need to do this!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.