Gone in 2020

  • Dec. 31, 2020, 2:54 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

She went Monday night. My brother was half an hour away, we really thought she would hold on for him, but she didn’t. It was peaceful and I’m glad my sister and I could be there.

I’m home now, but I’m exhausted. I drove all day Sunday, spent all day Monday sitting with her in hospice, stayed up drinking with my brother and sister that night, took care of details and ran some errands yesterday, then drove all day today. It’s about a 9 or 10 hour drive depending on traffic.

I’m looking forward to sleeping in my own bed tonight. We’ll plan the burial for sometime in the spring, and maybe plan a fun family trip later in the year to one of her favorite places.

I’m glad she’s at rest. Our relationship was complicated but it was hard to watch her lose herself to Alzheimer’s over the past few years, and I’m glad she won’t suffer further.


Honor December 31, 2020

Thinking of you guys. I got your card today and wondered how you were doing. Sorry for your loss.

Calicakes December 31, 2020

I'm sorry.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.