I nearby stand down... in crawling into 2014.

  • April 20, 2014, 4:42 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

My self titled title of non drinker must, from hence forth, be rescinded.

The other week it was beer, this week it's cider. Well, I am in Somerset...

We're having a fabulous time, we walked miles, including a trip up Glastonbury Tor, and the kids (after two weeks of not sitting at tables in school) did it all in fine spirits.

And I must admit to taking a certain sadistic pleasure in seeing the abject misery on the faces of the 200 or so French teenagers who were dragged up there as part of their school trip..! For those who don't know, walking up Glastonbury Tor is not very far, but certainly not for the faint hearted. Especially on an Easter Sunday that seems to be unconcerned as to whether it throws rain or hail us.

We were dressed appropriately, they were teenagers. And I don't care what their nationality, teenagers just don't get the concept of dressing for the weather.

Then there was that dread thought. Oh. My. All. Encompassing. Shite. What if they're staying in out hotel..?

You'll be pleased to know, they aren't!

It has been a really lovely day, and tomorrow I am hoping to explore the possibility of chocolate. For me... There is a chocolate shop in Glastonbury who specialize in raw chocolate products. Ie, those without sugar. Rich is going to the football in Yeovil and the girls and I will find somewhere to bimble - perhaps the Clarks outlet village. We'll see.

So TTFN my good people. X


ElvenAssassin April 20, 2014

Pictures! I would love to see pictures of the chocolate <3

Had a chuckle over the mental image of short skirts, bare legs and miserable chore of being fashionable!

~Twinkle~ April 20, 2014

Enjoy! :) x

Deleted user April 20, 2014

:-) :-* Have fun tomorrow!

thesunnyabyss April 20, 2014

I am so glad the teenagers aren't staying at your hotel, lol,

sounds like a blast, have fun!!!

Life Is For Living April 20, 2014

Sounds amazing. Please post pictures when you can! xxx

Deleted user April 20, 2014

Sounds great! How nice that your whole family enjoys a hike like that. You're so right about teens not knowing how to dress for weather!

Darcy0207 from OD April 20, 2014

SIGH! One of these days/years before I am too old to enjoy it I DO want a trip around the British Isles - ALL of it. I love the history, the literature, the legends. Anglophile for sure!

ermentrude Darcy0207 from OD ⋅ April 21, 2014

Well, we live in an area close to Stonehenge, Avebury and Glastonbury which are three important sites in the UK. You should come for sure, I'd be happy to show you around. X

Darcy0207 from OD ermentrude ⋅ April 21, 2014

OMG!! Groan! Yep, important for sure... especially in the Arthur legends.

The Tranquil Loon April 21, 2014

DID YOU SAY SUGAR-FREE? My ears were burning...Glad the tweens were not at your hotel. You'll have enough of that soon! I just had me some fine chocolate today.......and hazelnuts.....

ermentrude The Tranquil Loon ⋅ April 21, 2014

I shall see if they do mail order oversees for you. X

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.