Fuck crazy people in What's up

  • Sept. 19, 2013, 12:38 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I don't want to put this on Facebook, because I have too many local connections. We knew TWO of the people murdered Monday at the Navy Yard. Washington D.C. is a pretty small town, so the chances we were one or two removed from some of the victims was good, but...shit. Anyway, one of them was a long-time friend and co-worker of Frank's, shot in the head as he sat at his desk. The other we knew less well, but he was president of the local Rotary and in our "circles." He was shot in the back.

The world is not a safe place, and it's not for pussies. I keep reminding myself there are wonderful things in life and not think too much about how quickly the best things can be ripped from you.

I'm not in a great mood.


Deleted user September 19, 2013

:-( So sorry to hear. I used to live in the area. You're right: The District does have a certain small-town feel to it. One of the victims has the same last name as a former coworker of mine, and I'm afraid to find out if they are related. Such a senseless tragedy.

moneypenny September 19, 2013

Oh honey. I thought of you, knowing your Naval connections.

G worked there for the first 5 years we lived in DC. I'm so grateful he was elsewhere.

Wit' or witout September 19, 2013

I agree, the world is not a safe place. Life is so fragile.

MaggieTheCat September 19, 2013

:(

Thinking about you.

Jeanine September 19, 2013

It's a sad and scary place and sometimes I wonder if bringing a baby into this world was bad choice, not because I don't love her, but because it's not a safe place. But then I wonder if maybe she's the one that might change things.

So sorry for your loss. How truly awful.

Deleted user September 19, 2013

<3

KateD September 30, 2013

Sigh. The world is a scary place - but you've had more than your experience of that lately. I am so sorry for your loss (again).

Linda October 16, 2013

Oh man, Kate, I'm so very sorry. The world is dangerous. Sigh.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.