Hospice in 2020

  • Dec. 28, 2020, 5:45 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I learned some new things in the past week. I learned that PCU means Progressive Care Unit (one step down from ICU here in the US). I learned that AND stands for Allow Natural Death (one step up from DNR). And I learned that I will lose my fucking mind if I try to stand by and live my life while my sister sits alone at our mother’s deathbed.

So yesterday I got in my car and drove, and now I’m in Florida sitting next to my mom, who is not conscious and has labored breathing - but I feel better for being here. It just didn’t feel right to stay home. Our brother agrees, he’s driving down today.

I’ve been reading the hospice literature and they say “active dying” can take around three days. They started palliative care on Saturday afternoon so I’m guessing she’ll slip away tonight or tomorrow. But who knows.


Calicakes December 28, 2020

I'm so sorry.

-d December 28, 2020

hugs

Honor December 30, 2020

You did the right thing for you in going. It’s a hard thing to watch, but you are tough as nails. Big hugs to you and all my sympathy.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.