Christmas in The View from the Terrace

  • Dec. 29, 2020, 3:07 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Christmas day was quiet but pleasant. Louise cooked a wonderful dinner. She has been cooking since she was a child. She used to make the family a three course meal when she was ten. Nobody taught her. I have never been very interested in cooking. Hubby is but he isn’t particularly good at it. Louise is a brilliant cook. She has learned it all herself from cookery books and the Internet. She did a nut roast with veg and Yorkshire puddings and, as usual, she cooked for an army, so there was enough heat up on Boxing day. She bought me a beautiful long, silky, hand made skirt that she found on Ebay, with a pattern of orange trees against a black background. I bought her a gold bracelet with 2 interlocking circles to represent mother and daughter. Unfortunately, it is too big, and I am waiting to hear back from them if they will change it. Billie had loads of presents. Louise buys her lots of cheap soft toys from charity shops and discount stores. It is fun to watch her opening them.

Hubby came on Sunday with my medication and a bag of gifts from the rest of the family. Chris and Tony clubbed together to buy Louise a Google Assistant. She is delighted with it.
Hubby stayed for about an hour and a half. It was good to see him.

There is a lot of talk on the news about the new strain of Coronavirus which is more infectious, and that cases are rising. It’s scary, I wish I didn’t have to go out at all but we still can’t get home delivery from the supermarkets. I can’t believe they are letting the children go back to school. We are trying to be very careful. Hopefully, my age group will be called for the vaccine soon. I expect I will have to go back to Herefordshire to get it as my doctor is there.

It has turned very cold and a lot of the country has had snow. Because of the new lockdown the shop below us is closed again. Usually the heat from them rises and warms the flat to some extent. On the positive side, we have been having some beautiful sunsets, I’m looking at one right now.
alt text


toddslife December 29, 2020

nice photo

Marg December 30, 2020

Beautiful sunset! Glad you had such a nice day and gave each other thoughtful gifts. The new strain sure is very worrying - I hope it’s not too long before you can get the vaccine!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.