2020; the year that wasn’t. in Hot town, summery in the city - 2017

  • Dec. 28, 2020, 6:25 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

What did you do in 2020 that you’d never done before?

Discovered that the suburb we live in has some great trails, off-road biking areas etc… we were aware of the green spaces but had never explored them before. First lockdown involved walking along them every day.

What traditions were started?

Early morning sessions at the skate park with L. We love getting there while the world is sleeping.

What traditions were broken?

Going to my dad’s at Christmas and during other times. I miss going there.

What countries did you visit?

Counties might be a better one for this question 🤣 Somerset, Oxfordshire, Berkshire, Northamptonshire…

Where did you go on vacation?

A small village just outside Glastonbury where we stayed in my cousin’s farm.

A new food that you were introduced to?

I wouldn’t say I was introduced to any new foods specifically but I made a whole host of new recipes. It was one of the things that kept me going through lockdown; creating new meals. Although miso paste; I needed that for a couple of recipes and haven’t used it before.

What was your favourite TV program?

Where do I start..? I used the lockdown to get through a LOT of Netflix. I loved La Casa de Papel (or Money Heist) and also watched a few other Spanish ones. Blanking on names though. I loved re watching old American 20something sitcoms and old British ones: Vicar of Dibley, Dinner Ladies, Ab Fab etc. T and I have been rewatching Dr Who although that’s leaving Netflix soon. We have made it Peter Capaldi though.

What was your greatest musical discovery?

Musical discoveries are usually made when R takes me to gigs and they definitely haven’t been happening! I suppose I have paid more attention to Amy Macdonald, having heard her on the radio a couple or three months ago. I searched her out on Spotify and added her to a few playlists.

What song will always remind you of this year?

The entire soundtrack of Money Heist but especially Bella Ciao by Manu Pilas https://open.spotify.com/track/3lWzVNe1yFZlkeBBzUuZYu?si=hv14GkDKQLeuP8bsd5AzNw

What was the best book you read?
Errrrrr. I just read my sister’s favourite book of the year: Such a fun Age by Kiley Reid which was good but I don’t think I’ll go back and read it as I didn’t really like any of the characters. I’m trying to remember what I have read. Right now I’m reading 26.2 Miles to Happiness by Paul Tonkinson. He’s a comedian who also runs and it’s very, very good. One of those books that I keep finding myself picking up and reading in random corners of the house. I’m looking forward to Running Tracks coming out, written by Paul’s fellow comedian and Running mate Rob Deering. It’s all about how he links music to runs and was written through lockdown.

What were your favourite films this year?

I didn’t watch that many films. I did really enjoy Polar Express which we watched on Christmas Day. I’d really love to watch it on an IMAX screen. It would be incredible!

How would you describe your personal fashion concept during 2020?

I did get dressed every day which is impressive compared to most people, in fact I saw a woman walking to the shop in PJs this morning (I was running) 🤣 The summer was cut offs and loose tops as it was a warm one while the winter has been jeans and jumpers with something warm in between! My Lockdown hair was extraordinary. Two weeks ago I had roots that were almost bob length with a dirty blonde frazzle below having not had ANYTHING done to my hair since January. I have hennad it now and am much happier with it.

Which celebrity/public figure do you fancy most?

A Spanish actor whose name escapes me. He’s in El Ministerio del Tiempo as well as another Spanish programme I watched.

What political issue stirred you the most?

I think it’s the fact that politicians treat us like such, utter imbeciles and that so many people are so fucking oblivious to it. I was doing someone’s nails the other day who told me that she felt sorry for Boris. I made non committal mouth noises. He’s done nothing to draw my sympathy. He very much enjoys the bumbling buffoon act which covers up the fact that he’s a calculated, conniving, self interested bombastic bastard.

Headlines in the news from this year that you’ll remember most

It’s all a big amalgamation of contradictory announcements from government and scientists. I think the vaccines being ready was a big moment.

Internet memes that will always remind you of this year?

(I’m stealing the cosmic feline’s answer).
Very grateful for cinnamonia and her daily roundup of memes on Facebook. Nothing tops them. Grateful for a smile and sometimes a belly laugh every single day.

Where did most of your money go?

School Bloody Uniform!! We have massively struggled this year because I have only been able to work sporadically and the uniform at the end of lockdown was a huge hit. The shoes ended up costing over £70 because decent kids shoes don’t exist at lower prices. I want a pair that will last the year.

What was the best thing you bought?

Without a doubt it was my treadmill. I snapped it up on eBay at the start of the first lockdown when L got a shielding letter. It was only about 5 miles away and cost £65. The incline didn’t work but I didn’t care. I was able to wheel it out every other day, unfold it in front of the telly and put a YouTube video on of someone filming their run somewhere in the world. I ran all over the place while remaining in my living room.

Where were you New Year’s Day of 2020?

At home. R and I were horribly ill last Christmas so we were unable to do anything much.

How did you spend Christmas 2020?

In a gradual downward spiral of chocolate Baileys 🙂 there’s a teeny bit left which I plan to have tomorrow evening (just because I’m not running on Tuesday).

How did you spend New Year’s Eve 2020?

That’s still a few days away but I’m guessing that, since I’m in tier 3, it will be at home with my whisky 🥃

How old did you turn on your birthday (and what did you do)?

It was a big one. A quarter of a century (since I reached a quarter of a century…) we didn’t do a lot on the day as we had just crawled out of lockdown v2.0 although R and I went out for breakfast and hiked on the Ridgeway. However, yesterday was my actual birthday outing (22 days after my birthday). We drove the hour n a bit to Silverstone race track, drove around the track in my 13 year old diesel estate at 5mph looking at pretty lights

(aside, I have NO idea who the people in the video are) and then we drove home again!

What date from last year will be etched upon your memory forever and why?

July 2nd which was when I leapt violently out of my comfort zone and started my nail business.

If you could relive any day from 2020, which would it be and why?

If I could go back to the beginning of the year with the knowledge that it was all going to turn to shit, just so I could appreciate being around other people without giving it any thought then that would be fabulous.

Did anyone close to you give birth?

An old colleague of mine did but I wouldn’t say we were close.

Did anyone close to you die?

No.

Whose behaviour merits celebration?

Both of my offspring. One who has very badly Health anxiety but has made it through this year, including making it into college some days, despite not being able to control other people’s actions. And the other one who was told to stay at home and shield, who was no longer allowed to see friends or play football or go skateboarding and took it all in her stride.

Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed?

A few people were removed from my Facebook this year due to their constant links to videos by people who said the pandemic was a hoax but through each 28 minute (or so) long video never actually said anything! People who commented on my adverts for masks (which I was making and selling) along a similar thread, saying that people shouldn’t be wearing masks. People wearing sunflower lanyards claiming not to be able to wear masks. This is my diary so I’m going to say it. BOLLOCKS. Out of my family of 4 we have two diagnosed asthmatics, one diagnosed autisic and one with definite autistic traits. We all wore and wear masks. At first they were uncomfortable and strange but after a while we got used to them!!. Government bods and their constant hypocritical, self serving style of politics really, really, wound me up! You’re one of us. Follow the fucking rules!

Do you hate/dislike anyone that you didn’t hate/dislike this time last year?

I think hate and disking are strong emotions. One person I removed from Facebook is someone I have always liked but her extreme ideas in recent years have taken over from anything else. She irritated me when she didn’t before.

Who is somebody who has changed your life in 2020?

A lady called Tina. She works for CAMHS and is my counsellor. Her role in our relationship is to help me to help eldest’s anxiety. Tina has a way of looking at things that makes me see them in a different way.

Who did (do) you miss?

My family. Us siblings all got together in February, staying at my brother’s and we have kept in touch through WhatsApp video calls, having competitions, themes, quizzes and more but I’ve hardly spoken to my dad, just communicating via email because his memory is really bad. I know I should call but I keep putting it off.

Who was the best person (people) you met?

Hmmm. Met… in 2020..? I think I can safely say that hasn’t occurred 🙂

What did you want and get?

I guess Covid-19 gave me the kick up the backside to use my manicure qualifications as I just couldn’t childmind in a house as small as this while it’s full of family. There’s no way it could have worked.

What did you want and not get?

For my older daughter to be able to face the world head on and show it how amazing she is.

What is one thing that would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

Being financially comfortable.

What would you like to have in 2021 that you lacked in 2020?

Hot bodies crushed together at the front of a gig, meeting up with friends, mooching around the shops without constantly watching where everyone else was going so I could avoid them.

What do you wish you’d done more of?

Upper body workouts. They stopped when I stopped being able to use the park exercise machines and I have only just begun again.

What do you wish you’d done less of?

Snacking and getting caught in rabbit holes of Internet hate.

What did you get really, really excited about?

Swimming. My cousin has a swimming pool and youngest and I swum at least twice a day!

What is something you took for granted in 2020?

The ability to be in touch virtually with everyone, the delivery people would be at work and that the NHS would be there should I need it.

What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Finding ways to make money, wherever, however, using skills I have amassed over the years. The amount of positive comments I received for my masks was astounding, whether it was for how well they were made, how quickly they arrived etc… it was so lovely.

What was your biggest failure?

I agree with the cosmic kitty because it isn’t something I’m particularly bothered about but I have used food in a big way to deal with enormous stress over the past three or four months. I would rather I had found other ways to deal with my emotions but I didn’t. I can’t change it.

What was the funniest thing that happened to you this year?

There were a lot of giggles and laughs but nothing stands out as specifically funny.

What was the worst thing that happened to you in 2020?

To me specifically? I don’t know. In general it would be those cute little bobbly virus cells, to the family it would be the family member with Covid, the daughter who is verging on agoraphobia because of Covid. For the cats it definitely be the monthly neck squirt (they were both asleep this evening and both went from sleep to being halfway up the stairs with one little flea treatment 🤣🤣).

What was the best thing that happened to you this year?

Getting a bit of alone time when eldest was at college and getting time alone with R when he took time off work while one was at college and one at school.

What was the hardest thing you did this year?

Two things. One was the gradual build up to getting eldest to college in general and each day of getting her either there or logged on to the online lesson each day. The other thing was putting myself out there as a nail artist. I still feel like a total fraud but everyone seems happy with their nails and often ask for more appointments.

What is something you have vowed to never do again?

To never say never 😉

Did you suffer illness or injury?

Since the evil flu bug at Christmas 2019, I can almost completely say that I haven’t been properly ill since. I have had no actual Running injuries although it is almost a year since I saw the physio (usually I have appointments every 8-12 weeks) so I have some definite niggles but they haven’t got any worse since the summer and I have lots of yoga moves that help.

What kept you sane?

Running.

Compared to this time last year, are you:
i. Happier or sadder?
About the same.
ii. Thinner or fatter? Fatter
iii. Richer or poorer? definitely poorer
iv. Older or Wiser? I actually got younger this year 😂😂🙂

Did you keep your New Year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I still don’t do New Years resolutions, I change things when I want to change them.

What was a valuable life lesson you learned last year?

When the world needs each other for support, everyone will just be focused on wiping their arses!!

Tell us something you’ve learned about yourself.

I will never be able to eat sugar without wanting all the sugar. I am a true addict.

Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:

‘So why should we fear what travel brings? ‘ this is from Nothing Arrived by Villagers.


thesunnyabyss December 28, 2020

I love your math 💜
xox

ermentrude thesunnyabyss ⋅ December 28, 2020

I know, it’s good isn’t it 🤣🤣

thesunnyabyss ermentrude ⋅ December 28, 2020

I'm going with your new math from now on, I'm a quarter century, the second time, plus a couple of years, lol,

ermentrude thesunnyabyss ⋅ December 28, 2020

Perfect 🤩

~Twinkle~ December 28, 2020

What a year! Xx

The Tranquil Loon January 01, 2021

The skate park morning get aways-sound so peaceful and satisfying. and Boris-too funny... : )

The Tranquil Loon January 01, 2021

Hope your New Year is wonderful to you and your family.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.