Better Days in Background Noise

  • Dec. 25, 2020, 1:51 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Better Days

And here we are again.
Crazy early Christmas morning.

A wind storm blowing a gale outside, and they have been predicting power outages all day. Also predicting torrential rain. The 18” of snow from a week ago is all but gone, except for the plow piles.

I would glom onto the “OMG 2020 has been so awful, and my life sucks and corona fuck you and let me whine about how hard my life is…”

That is all I see on social media.

I honestly cannot say any of that is true for me. I would not call 2020 a banner year. A black cloud of major surgery. Multiples surgeries for my mother, three for my sister. And, oh yeah that whole crack my sternum open thing.

But the whole whine-fest about 2020 seems a bit overplayed.

I have plans. If I get my life past weekly doctors appointments and the ungodly co-pays.

This is the time of year I often think of past loves, missteps, miscalculations, mistakes. All the misses.

I heard Bryan Adams “Heaven” on the radio yesterday. It reminded me of the first time I heard it, on the way to work when I was stationed in Las Vegas. Newly married, and I couldn’t keep my hands off X1. Even then I had a sinking feeling that after the hormone rush wore off it wasn’t going to work.

But the reminder of the hope in the song felt good.

Winter has barely took hold. We have three or so months of nastiness. Then paradise comes back on. I love spring, summer and fall around here. Winter. Meh. I don’t ski any more. Too expensive. Three out of four ain’t bad.

My fingers can’t keep up with my mind.

And you asked me what I want this year
And I try to make this kind and clear
Just a chance that maybe we’ll find better days
‘Cause I don’t need boxes wrapped in strings
And designer love and empty things
Just a chance that maybe we’ll find better days
So take these words and sing out loud
‘Cause everyone is forgiven now
‘Cause tonight’s the night the world begins again
I need some place simple where we could live
And something only you can give
And that’s faith and trust and peace while we’re alive
And the one poor child who saved this world
And there’s ten million more who probably could
If we all just stopped and said a prayer for them
So take these words and sing out loud
‘Cause everyone is forgiven now
‘Cause tonight’s the night the world begins again
I wish everyone was loved tonight
And somehow stop this endless fight
Just a chance that maybe we’ll find better days
So take these words and sing out loud
‘Cause everyone is forgiven now
‘Cause tonight’s the night the world begins again
‘Cause tonight’s the night the world begins again

Source: LyricFind
Songwriters: John Rzeznik, Goo Goo Dolls


Telstar December 25, 2020

Always have something to look forward to.

Always.

woman in the moon January 02, 2021

My year was ok. The staying home part I kind of liked. The rest.... I don't know.

Jinn January 14, 2021

Spring is coming !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.